Day 55 - On Eagle’s Wings - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2024

Day 55 - On Eagle’s Wings

Some of it you learn the hard way. That’s for sure. I learned so much yesterday but didn’t realize until today. I woke up at 10 pm last night cause I was in someone’s site. I didn’t pay or reserve mine. Apparently it’s really hard to get a reservation. They told me to move. Then just said they’d set up next to me. Thankfully I didn’t have to move and they were somewhat chill. I woke up. 10-11 hours of sleep. Oh yeah. Packed up in the rain so was in and out of my tent. Was gonna do 94. But then decided 52 would be better. First good decision I made since day 53! I almost started moving but I had a flat. Changed it. It was now 8. Eh oh well. I climbed out of there. .7 miles up was a hard way to wake up. Saw a dead newt :( Pretty hill. I was slow. Stopped so much. And for looooong times. I was struggling. Lots of climbing. But very pretty. It started to hail. I would still rather that than wind. I saw my cows again. I missed those dudes. Scared one he probably almost had a heart attack. Ate a lot and was so hungry. Probably from losing so much yesterday. Finally I made it. Only $5. But it’s been awhile since I’ve paid for a campsite and haven’t gotten it refunded 🙃. Set up camp. Called Grace. Missed the call last night cause I was passed out. Got to talk to Dave!!!! The BEST. Then Maddie and my parents. Walked to dinner. Got some really good crab n corn chowder. Almost got a desert. Maybe tomorrow. Called my parents. Wrote journals. And going to bed soon. Day off tomorrow!!! I can’t wait. Pics to come tomorrow. 


Now time for things I learned. So hopefully I don’t make the same mistakes again. But knowing me and my nature I will. Don’t rely on yourself (you’re very unreliable). I’ve gone in waves on this trip of putting so much trust in God. Those times have been the most enjoyable. Not always easy but I remember those most. God will ALWAYS provide in ways you never expect it. And that is so true for me. With Kathleen in LA, with keeping my safe in TX and a hotel, with somehow giving me the energy to get up Big Bear. I have lists and could keep on going. But it’s hard to claim this as my own. Yesterday I thought I could do it. But was humbled very, very quickly. I was reminded in a text this morning that my strength comes from the Lord maker of heaven and earth. Now that’s a good thought. The same person that made this mountains that are hard to climb, the desert that is lonely, the ocean that is beautiful, He made me as well. And cares for me that much more. Now that’s a good thought. I just wish I didn’t forget it. I’m also not in control of the weather. Somehow I had the strength to fight through 10-20 mph winds. And it was easy. But it wasn’t really me. I prayed and God provided. I have never had to fear at night. I’ve slept in some pretty awful places. Some not so legal. I’ve always prayed and sometimes in the worst sites I’ve had the most peace. I’ve learned so much and I can’t wait for everything else I will learn on my way to Canada. Yesterday I almost came home. I can’t wait to go home. But I can’t wait for the next 25 days. They’re gonna be awesome!!!! See you all after I bike 0 miles tomorrow :)

Heart 0 Comment 0
These are the people that graciously let me stay there
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 4,017 miles (6,465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0