Day 56 - Breathe Deep - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2024

Day 56 - Breathe Deep

Over 10 hours of sleep. 23 hours in the last two nights. That feels good. I needed it. I didn’t move until 9:30 when I walked to church. Enjoyed getting to talk to people. And got so many snacks. Got some lemon bread too that I’m real excited about tomorrow. Met Nicholas. Went back to my tent and then walked to get some lunch. Are some fruit snacks and PB back at my tent. Both from church this morning. And I got goldfish too. I’ll be eating good tomorrow. Let Nicholas at his home. Real nice guy with some awesome hair. A little more hair than me. Got a nice slice of avocado toast. Craving that. So good. Met Mike and his wife. They were on a 40 mile ride. Good to talk to them about all of their cycling adventures in Europe. I’ll have to go their next to hike. Sat at the cafe outside for awhile. Planned out all my campsites to Newberg. I’ll be staying with my cousins for at least 2 nights there. Can’t wait. 9-10 days there with a 2 day break. Then 10 days to Vancouver. Then I’m coming home!!! Crazy this trip is almost done but still I have 3 weeks left. 3 weeks left tomorrow. I’m quite happy. Walked back to my tent and laid down. Debated a run but ate more food. Got to talk to the and only Andrew Backer! He’s been such an inspiration to me while I’m out here. Everytime I think I can’t go another day this man rode across the US in 20 days. Averaged 200 miles per day. WHAT???!!!! He’s a beast. Good to get some insight from him. Then I got to talk to Mimi and Papa. Always a good day when I get to see them. Soon it will be in person. And then I called my parents some more. I walked to the grocery store to get 30 more tortillas to get me through 9-10 more days without having to go shopping. I wonder how many of those I’ve had 🤔. Got me some fish n chips even tho I wasn’t hungry. Felt good to eat a real meal. So good. Walked back to the tent and had more food. That’s pretty much all I’ve done today. Eat. Called my family and charged my stuff in the bathroom while I sat outside of it. Didn’t pay for my campsite tonight and got scared when the trooper drove by and parked his car. Thankfully he drove off. Got to talk to Lucy too! Such a good day. Haven’t had a true rest day since starting up again in Arkansas. I needed it. Only walked a few miles. So chill so relaxing. But I’m tired. Gonna be a grind for the next week and a half but then I get a bed for 2 nights. Can’t wait. See you tomorrow. Writing this from the bathroom as my stuff charges. Pics to follow for the last three days sometime soon. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
🦌
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0