Day 53 - Start Somewhere - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2024

Day 53 - Start Somewhere

I LOVE GOVERNMENT WORKERS. They refunded me $42.99. Today was a whirlwind. Lots of emotions. Tired, happy, and yeah that’s pretty much it. I woke up at 5:15 after going to bed at 8:30. Then slept till 6:45. That was awesome! Felt so good. Moved pretty good getting ready. Was out of there at 7:55. No one kicked me out and got the campsite to myself! Pistachios for breakfast. Shockingly filling. It got me through pretty much the entire day. Today was a struggle fest. I felt like I was asleep most of the day after being so fired up this morning. I hardly remember anything. Probably made a lot of cars angry. But I didn’t even notice. Then on highway one was beautiful. That made it much better. Not a bad day just couldn’t get rolling. Stopped at 7 miles. Stopped at 20 for the wafer bar the Fabers gave me. Does not ever get old. So good! Then at 40 for pb+j on a spoon cause I didn’t want to use a tortilla. I laid down and set a timer for 4 minutes. On the shoulder. I almost fell asleep. So tired. Then I don’t remember much until mile 65. I almost started to bonk. So I put in the hurt. I bonked. Heart rate sat at 160, sweat was rolling down, and I could barely keep my feet going. Idk how I can push myself this hard when I’m already so far past my physical breaking point. So fun to see just how far you can push yourself. Went under a tunnel and the wheels fell off. Figuratively. Just cruised down to the bike shop. My spokes were all cracked so I needed an entire new wheel :(. I went to Safeway for 20 more tortillas and more wafer bars cause they’re so good! And a bar to get me to dinner. I did not eat well today. Maybe one of my worst days yet. Had 3 miles to the Agunbiade’s. Met Deji. This is Ayo’s family who I stayed with for two days in Phoenix. He was making pasta for dinner. My favorite! I was happy. Had three plates. And 2 bananas. Normal people food is so good!!!! We chatted for awhile. Really cool dude. I crashed so hard so just went to bed. Packed up and getting ready for tomorrow. Gonna hike but we’ll see how it all goes. Pics in from yesterday

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
2nd cybertruck 💪
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
My “nap”
Heart 3 Comment 0
A looong tunnel
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 3,931 miles (6,326 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Tony SeisserKeep up the fight! Your 4K mile mark right around the corner.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wes SoletherJude,

We are all rooting you on from WN and 1st/8th period Dual Credit. I give updates on your progress to the students as I come across them. Sometimes, they ask specifically how your day was yesterday, so we spend the first couple minutes of class looking at your journey. Everything sounds super tough at times, but you are persevering. Everyone is proud of you as you continue this truly epic trip. You are approaching my stomping grounds around San Francisco. You should try to take the trip up to Twin Peaks outside SF if you can. Best view of the city! But maybe you are past it already. Return home safe, Odysseus. We are rooting for you in Room 420!

Sincerely,

Mr. Solether
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserThanks Tony. It’s a lot easier to keep going with all the support I’m getting. So thank you 🙏
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Wes SoletherHey Mr. Solether!!!! So good to see your name pop up here. I miss you all back home. Really wish at times I was sitting in that class and there’s other times I’m really thankful I’m at the ocean and not sitting in class!! I missed twin peaks. But I got to look over the bay and city right before a heavy fog/rain blew over. I’ll see you again soon :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago