Day 51 - San Luis - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 19, 2024

Day 51 - San Luis

The past few days I’ve been really angry. Shocker. I’m sure that is a big surprise to hear. Kidding. Today I thought of the word agitated. That put it perfectly. I felt really uncomfortable. My legs weren’t quite there. I was tired. I’ve cut myself with my knife many times. I am tired. Today I got sleep so I woke up a little less agitated but still not great. The camp host said there are hiker/biker sites for $10. Frustrating. But I got to call Luke so that made the morning so much better to take my mind off everything else. I then called mom. But it all came back. It was foggy this morning but then the sun came out. I started to climb. And here came the wind. I hung up cause I got frustrated again. Once I was protected from the wind it turned much better. I was climbing. I was enjoying it. It was beautiful. I made it to the top and easily cruised down at 35+ mph. Felt good. I don’t remember much else. Just stopped around 20 miles for some sausage. A cop yelled something out of his megaphone at me while he drove past. Probably told me to get off the highway. Meh. I didn’t care. It was a good shoulder. Called mom again in a much better mood. Then the worst shoulder hit. I’ve never been so exhausted from simply holding on. My butt is bruised. My hands hurt. Everything was so tight. It was slow and long. I was fine until I wasn’t. 10 miles left I hit more wind. 10-15 mph on that awful shoulder wasn’t fun. Finally made it and asked many people if I’d be able to pitch my tent. Even asked a cop. I didn’t want to pay $50-55 to pitch my tent but I also didn’t want to get kicked out. I called my dad and he thankfully put me in a hotel room. It wasn’t even a doubt in my mind. So grateful. Got a shower and felt so much better. This is probably what I’ve needed. I walked to a really good Mexican place for some seafood then I wanted some desert so I got free ice cream from McDonald’s. Thanks once again to so many of everyone who has given me so much to be able to eat good food. Got to talk to Mr. Roberts. That was awesome. And Maddie. And Mrs. Roberts for a little too. So thankful for them. It’s hard to imagine where I’d be without everything they’ve always done for me. It’s a gift from God to be able to know them. I came back and called Mom and Dad. She didn’t like how angry I was. Sorry mother. I’m doing my best. But for now you get my unfiltered emotions :) Oh and I saw a cybertruck today. And I almost got hit by a golf ball while calling my parents yesterday

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
lol 3 pictures today. There wasn’t much to look at. Nothing I haven’t already seen that is
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 3,781 miles (6,085 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0