Day 48 - Malibu - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 16, 2024

Day 48 - Malibu

Today was a good day. I woke up. I didn’t want to get out of bed but was motivated by the fact that I would be able to spend time with the Clarkson’s. They invited me over (I also kinda invited myself) for coffee. I was so excited to be with people. As I made my way I called mom and dad. Such a beautiful landscape. Once I got there I was greeted by such a welcoming family. They’ve never met me before last night but they treated me like they’ve known me for years. Such an amazing gift. Pam made me great breakfast and I got to talk with Ryan, Shireen, Jack, and Pam. What an amazing family. I got a tour of the house/yard and it was beautiful looking out on the ocean. Unfortunately I had to leave tho. As I started I was motivated. And distracted by the incredible cliffs down into the water. Caleb called around mile 32 but I just popped a tire so I had to go. Changed it. I punctured all the way through and left a big gash in my tire so I had to change both of them. Then I stopped again around mile 62. The bike paths I was on were wonderful. Saw hundreds of cyclists which was awesome. Almost caught one. Called mom and dad again then got going. It was ROUGH. I was quite tired. Around mile 75 I started to crash pretty hard. I was sweating uncontrollably even though it wasn’t that hot. I was jittery. And I stopped for a quick bathroom break and filled up water. I had a clif bar and that seemed to help a bit. 20 miles left. It seemed too long. 15 miles left seemed even longer. 10 miles left I was ready to be done. 5 miles left seemed impossible. I MADE IT!!! Met Carmen and Jon. Very nice camp hosts. Then I got to my campsite and met Gracie, Larry, and one other girl I can’t remember her name. They invited me over for steak. YES. I could not wait. Then I met Sky. Such a sweet little girl. She was 9. Reminded me just like Primrose. It made me miss home but I got a taste of it. Then I met her 3 year old sister Rain. Reminded me of Clarissa. Miss both of you girls. Then thhhey invited me over for dinner! I met they’re mom named sunshine. Such an incredible family. I. Talked with sunshine and she was ready to give me everything of what little she had. She gave me a gift card to where I’m going today. I felt so guilty for taking it but they insisted. So nice. Then I called my parents and then had some steak. So good! They asked me if I wanted to get stoned so I figured it was time to go to bed. Called mom and dad once again and then crashed so hard. I’m so grateful to start the day with a happy heart. And end the day with some more incredible people. I’m going to bed happy tonight so thank you to everyone that made me smile today. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
The family ❤️
Heart 7 Comment 0
Pam and Jack
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Joakim Noah’s house from their backyard 💪
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just a really nice street. With some really nice cars. And some really nice homes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 3,581 miles (5,763 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0