Day 35 - Down On The Farm - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2024

Day 35 - Down On The Farm

We woke up! How exciting. I was tired but somewhat rested. We got going around 5:50 to try and make it 30 miles to church by 8. We passed through a border checkpoint and then cruised for awhile. Felt good to only have crosswind and not that much of it. At church it was a very different experience than the past many. It was a very modern service and I’m still trying to decide whether or not I liked that. But it was good. We got some donuts too from them. After that we had headwind for the next 60 miles. We stopped pretty frequently and I heard this song playing. It was stuck in my head the entire day but that’s ok. I needed something to make the wind a little quieter. It was loud. There were times that I just wanted to lay down and cover my ears. Today it wasn’t physically hard it was mentally exhausting. I’m so done listening to this constant obnoxious wind. It’s hard to describe what it’s like but it’s something I’ve never experienced. To have everyday except one in the last 15 days to be 15-20 mph winds at my face with 25-30 mph gusts. It’s exhausting. Even with two rest days. And dad. At this point I would rather have just about anything than another day with this constant wind. I popped a tire. We were on the interstate but thankfully got it changed. Just a big thorn. I needed to get out of the wind so we went to a store. In the parking lot dad popped a tire. I saw a creepy medicine man machine and then helped dad fix it. Even though he pretty much already did it. Then a mile later another one of his gets popped. Three in one day. Didn’t quite beat my record of 4 in one day. That I dad twice. We finally got here. After many breaks later. We filled up water, went to the bathroom, got forks, got hot water for freeze dried dinners all at the gas station. Chicken pesto pasta never tasted so good but I still miss moms cooking. Listened to some good songs and then going to bed. Exhausting day. Honestly the past 15 days have all been brutally exhausting. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 94 miles (151 km)
Total: 2,659 miles (4,279 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0