Day 20 - Temporary Town - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2024

Day 20 - Temporary Town

High on adrenaline today. Woke up at 12:15 to a dog trying to get in my tent. Then I woke up and realized I was dreaming. But then the dog came back as I was throwing things out of my tent and crawled in with me. We were buddies. He followed me the two miles up the hill to the convenience where I used the bathroom. Then he got lost and I was sad. I was debating on putting him in one of my packs. Entered Ozark National Forest. Hilly but everything felt good. Stopped for my classic Nutella + tortillas for breakfast. Hills were really fun today. Never thought I’d be saying that. It was really pretty and some of those downhills were a little sketchy. Had a loooong climb that get me sweating buckets at the top. Called Ben and Luke and they would be there shortly. Had 35 mph gusts straight at my back which was incredible. 20 mph constant. Ben and Luke found me after going 5 miles past me. So happy. Had 25 miles left and they flew by. Told them stories and it was so fun to be with family. Made it to JBU and my mind was blown. I don’t believe that just happened. Feels so weird to look back at the journey. Hung out with them. I have so many takeaways from even just the last 20 days so I might be sharing those on Wednesday 2/14. I’ll at least do a brief summary with stats on there. Really happy. Felt like a wave of exhaustion came over me while I take my 2nd shower in over 20 days. Being out here is incredible but I’m excited for a break to get everything clean. Check back on Wednesday and then I’ll hopefully be starting my second part on Saturday 2/17. Thanks for following along for this first part and thanks to Sarah Jane for correcting my spelling :)

Pictures are posted from yesterday now

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,543 miles (2,483 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Adam ZamoraWhat an exciting trip! This is a fun read. And it's great that you found a dog that didn't just want to chase you on your bike!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago