Day 19 - Sweet Ever After - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 7, 2024

Day 19 - Sweet Ever After

Another incredible day. I was unsure whether or not Elijah would meet me but he texted me at 7 when I woke up and told me to go to his grandparents house. I eventually got going and brought them donuts so we ate it outside together. Then we went to the store and got some hair dye for him. And he wanted to meet Sarah Jane so I called her in Mr. Hineman’s class so it was good to see her and all of them. We both didn’t really want to leave but eventually around 9 I said bye. Told him to call me and I was off. Took it really easy. Had an incredible downhill first 10 miles. Some uphill but it felt real good on my knee. It was a little uphill after that but the wind helped so much. Some really cool windy farm roads. Not the boring straight ones like Illinois. I stopped at a bike store in Fort Smith to try and figure out my chain issues. They said the chain was beyond its max wear and they replaced the rear cassette as well. They were pretty fast and probably didn’t charge as much as I should. They were amazed by me doing this and that someone that doesn’t know much about bikes (I told them I replaced my first flat on my own a week and a half ago) was able to do this. Hopefully inspired Eugene, the store owner, to do it someday. And he said that I should apply to be a tour guide for these trips. Probably gonna email them soon to see what they have available. Probably not gonna happen but what an opportunity. I was riding on a road and past every single fast food possible and decided I’d stop at canes. I really didn’t want my meat, cheese, and tortilla anymore. After that I got on the highway. Lucy called so it was nice talking to her but it got real dicey real quick. As I crossed the Arkansas River there were no shoulders. That was terrifying. About a mile later a cop almost knocks me off my bike with him blaring his siren. Pulls me over. Now that’s 4/50 states. Only 46 to go. He told me I wasn’t allowed and told me to get off at the next exit. Thankfully no ticket. Climbed up and out of Van Buren for awhile and was pretty happy. There wasn’t once today that I felt angry, frustrated, or disappointed. I was happy, encouraged, and excited to be so close to JBU. I was tempted to keep going but figured it’d be best to stop and call people. Climbing continued to the campsite and I pitched my tent by a swift moving river so I got a nice natural noise machine. Called Aidan and Noah before their meet tomorrow. Then called Grace and my parents for a while. Part one is almost finished. So you all don’t get confused if you see me wandering around Wheaton, I’m going to be coming home for a few days. I’m getting to JBU tomorrow and will stay until Friday or Saturday and then drive home to be with my family for a few days before I come back on Friday 2/16 and start part two on Saturday 2/17 is the plan. Gonna reassess and regroup. And hopefully get my sleeping bag to stop smelling like BO.  Excited to be with my family again. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,487 miles (2,393 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tony SeisserEnjoy your break, but hurry back, your audience will miss you and your journey. : )
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Tony SeisserHaha thanks for all the comments
Reply to this comment
3 months ago