Day 13 - There Was Jesus - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 1, 2024

Day 13 - There Was Jesus

What a day. I pray that I will never forget today. Past two days have been pretty flat probably mostly due to missing so many of you all. Low on motivation and pretty tired have left the days pretty lonely. Desolate is probably the best way to put it. When I woke up this morning I was not in the mood to go anywhere. Wishing I was back at home getting ready to go sleep through another first period in  Mr. Solether’s class :). But no. I had to get up and find another place to stay for tonight. Took a break at 5 and then finished a bag of granola at 15. Stopped at 25 to take off my rain jacket. At 30 I went back into Mississippi. It might now be my all time favorite state. 5 miles later I saw a sign for a visitor center. It also said there was security. I skipped all entrances and then 5 seconds away from going by it I decided to turn in. Overly friendly security guard met me first and informed me that inside I could possibly get a water from a lady. After going to the bathroom I walk in and find Kathleen. She asks me what I’m doing and my age. She immediately showed compassion. Not for me but for everyone that wants me home. She gave me water, cookies, and coffee. A few minutes later she was on the phone and asked if I wanted a chicken thigh, breast, or finger. It would take about an hour but there was no way I could refuse. I was blown away by her kindness. There were outlets so I brought my stuff in to charge which I was worried I wouldn’t be able to find a place until after things died. She put me behind the front desk with her and gave me wipes to clean up a little because I still have yet to shower. We chat but it seems like she’s known me for a long time. 40 minutes later then food comes. She got me spaghetti, pork chop, and a lemonade. It felt like I was dreaming. Once I finished I packed up my bags and she gave me the rest of the cookies. She was trying very hard not to cry and I’m still blown away I didn’t. I’ll be back in a few years Kathleen. And if not then I’ll see you in Heaven. Good day the rest of the time. Dinner was good and now I’ll set up my tent. Crossed the Mississippi River which was cool. I’ll add pic’s tomorrow cause I’m not getting good enough cell service. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Tony SeisserGreat story! 👍
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 97 miles (156 km)
Total: 1,081 miles (1,740 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Elizabeth HubbardAngel Kathleen 🥰😭😇😭
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Tony SeisserGreat comments today. You are truly leaving your mark on all you meet. And it sounds like you'll never be hungry. : ). Have a great time with your brother.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Dena HowserOh my word!!! Kathleen! What a blessing!! ❤️❤️. I bet you are counting the minutes until you see Ben!! You are amazing Jude!!!! 💪🏻💪🏻
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kimberly AndersonLove these sweet and merciful provisions!! We continue to pray, and love reading your updates!
Emmy says-Go jude!!!
❤️ aunt Kimberly
Reply to this comment
3 months ago