A Gallery of Buddha Portraits - Unchained Melody - CycleBlaze

February 6, 2024

A Gallery of Buddha Portraits

Buddha Statues at Wat Phra Borommathat Chaiya

I thought it would be fun to show you a bunch of the Buddha statue portraits I did at Wat Phra Borommathat Chaiya because they are so beautiful and interesting.  They sat so very still when I was photographing them - a great sitting.

Like us, Buddha faces are all different creating a feeling of distinctly  different individual personalities.  This has always been one of the reasons they intrigue me.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I would bet this one is made of stone. Since I didn't rap on any of them it's hard to tell what exactly they are made from. I'd say most of them are ceramic, some are stone, some are probably wood and probably a few are metal. They have been painted repeatedly and lacquer applied on some making it even harder to tell what they are actually made of.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

lovebruce

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jen RahnA wonderful series!

Each unique and beautiful face conveying a unifying feeling of peace, contentment, and equanimity.

Well, except for the 2nd to last Buddha. He looks a teensy bit worried(?) Maybe because he's the only one with his eyes open? And my perception is likely inaccurate! What do *you* see?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Jen RahnYou are actually very perceptive. This particular Buddha was not with the others and was not as old. He is made of metal for sure. He was with two others that were similar, with eyes. He'd maybe be less confused looking if he didn't have eyes painted on.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Jen RahnI see Mr. Grumby in that one.

It’s oddly common for me to be subconsciously reminded of people I know, like doppelgängers even when they are a completely different ethnicity.

If a meditative statue was made of me, I would probably have my eyes open too, don’t want any butterflies sneaking up on me. Or banded kraits.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago