Day 035 - Hancock to Cumberland - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2023

Day 035 - Hancock to Cumberland

Heart 1 Comment 0

Well, I didn't keep dry today, but at least I only got wet for the last 8 miles.  In order to try and beat the rain I was rolling before 8AM.  I didn't mind the early hour as much as I did the temperature - it was in the low 50's.  For the first couple of miles I kept thinking about turning around and getting my long finger gloves, because my hands were so cold.  Eventually it warmed up enough that I could think about something other than how cold I was, and the ride became more pleasant.

On the WMRT with big hills in the distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding through one of several cuts on the WMRT west of Hancock.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One section of the trail still had old telegraph poles standing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A small shelter on the trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The reason for the numerous "Falling Rock" signs along the trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don't know how long the tree at the top will remain standing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I picked up the C&O at lock 56 and stayed on it until I reached the hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 56 scene.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fifteenmile Creek Aqueduct.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fifteenmile Creek Aqueduct.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
House foundation at lock 57
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trestle crossing the Potomac.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 58
Heart 0 Comment 0
Like yesterday, this deer did not shy away
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 59
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 59 - Another house foundation
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 60 was overgrown.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 61
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 61.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of 61
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 62 will soon look like Lock 60.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 63 1/3.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 64 2/3
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 66
Heart 0 Comment 0

You may be wondering why the locks are numbered 62 - 63 1/3 - 64 2/3 - 66.  

According to Wikipedia:  The fractional numbering arose because locks 70–75 were completed in 1842, before locks 62 and 66.  It was found that the level of the canal between locks 62 and 66 could be raised in three steps instead of four. So the additional locks through there were numbered 1+1⁄3 steps apart (62, 63+1⁄3, 64+2⁄3, and 66) so that the other locks, already completed, did not have to be renumbered.

Now you know :-)

The Paw Paw Tunnel is between locks 66 & 67.  However it is closed due to a rockslide and you have to detour over the mountain, and I mean OVER!  Going up the mountain towards Cumberland they have cut an access road for the construction equipment, so at least the detour was wide.  Pushing a LWB recumbent up a steep hill is not a lot of fun.  One problem is that on loose dirt the front wheel keeps wanting to kick out, so I couldn't get in a good rhythm as I had to keep jerking the bike back in line.  At the steepest grades, I was stopping every 100' or so to catch my breath. 

The detour is MUCH steeper than it appears in the photo.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerDone that, not fun….
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Curt & Helene ReedNo doubt, it is steep. It is good, it builds muscles
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Almost at the top. The good thing about a recumbent is that I could just sit in the seat when I had to stop to catch my breath.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Going down the mountain was a very different story.  The path down was a single track with lots of tree roots and large rocks to get your attention.  At one point, as I dropped over a rock ledge, the bottom of my front fender caught the rock and pulled the stays completely out of their clamps. It was a lot of fun trying to hold the bike on a steep incline with one hand while trying to reattach the stays with the other.  After that experience, I rode the rest of the way down at a much slower pace.  

The following video shows the ride down, up to the point I has to stop to reattach the fender.

Back on the tow-path at Lock 67
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from lock 67.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Detail view of where the gates were mounted.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Town Creek Aqueduct
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice view between Town Creek aqueduct and lock 68
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 68
Heart 0 Comment 0
House at lock 68
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old roadway crossing lock 68
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 69
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pool above Lock 69. The pools were where barges would await their turn to pass through the lock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 70 pool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 71. They all really look pretty much the same, don't they :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lower pool on 71
Heart 0 Comment 0
house at lock 71
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 72
Heart 0 Comment 0
and lock 72's house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 73.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trestle over lock 73's upper pool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 74.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 75. The C&O has 74 locks (remember about the fractional lock), so this is the last one. Aren't you glad!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
House at lock 75.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was just past Lock 75 with 8 miles to go, when my hopes of staying dry were dashed.  Although I did not get drenched, I did get very wet, and the bike got very muddy.  It took me about an hour to get the bike cleaned and lubed, but it was still a GOOD DAY!

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 1,632 miles (2,626 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Alain AbbateWho would have guessed this area could be muddy for cycling?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago