Day 007 - Statesboro, GA to Yemassee, SC - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2023

Day 007 - Statesboro, GA to Yemassee, SC

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride was very pleasant and mostly uneventful.  There were no issues with the route, all the roads were good, and I encountered very little traffic.  It was a great day just to pedal along, enjoy the sights, and daydream.  

The only negative thing about today was that there was a 50% chance of thunderstorms in the afternoon.  That thought hung around in the back of my head most of the day, as I had a rather long ride to do.  Luckily, I had a very nice tailwind all day long.  I got to the motel by 2PM, which was about an hour before it did rain, so things worked out perfectly.

There were no museums or attractions to visit today, so I'll let the photos tell most of today's story.

My good deed for the day. An oncoming pick-up, loaded with brush, dropped a couple of bundles on the road just as it was approaching me, so I stopped and cleared the roadway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A very pretty pond that was shared by three equally nice houses, one of which is visible in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another property had a picturesque pecan grove as its front yard.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The countryside today was mixture of farms, forests and swamps. This was a large onion field.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The onions looked like they were about ready for harvest.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We had lunch today at the Clyo Trading Post.  We had eaten here before in 2016 and it hasn't changed.  And yes, Alain, there is still a very large pork to vegetable ratio in their vegetable dishes!

Shortly after leaving Clyo, I crossed the Savannah River and thought I was entering South Carolina. I was not sure until I saw this sign a little ways down the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
In 2016, there was a sign at the state line!!
Heart 2 Comment 0
South Carolina swamp with a grassy island.
Heart 1 Comment 0
If you bother to review "Two Far 2016 - Florida to Ontario: A Round Trip", you'll see a photo of this same historical marker.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ditto for this marker.
Heart 0 Comment 0
However, a certain unnamed party failed to get a photo of the back side of the marker in 2016. :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
This marker is about 500 ft. from or motel in Yemassee.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 383 miles (616 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Alain AbbateI enjoyed the flashback to the pork infused veggies.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago