Day 008 - Yemassee to Moncks Corner - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2023

Day 008 - Yemassee to Moncks Corner

Heart 1 Comment 0

I knew that today's ride was long, so we got up at 6AM for a planned 8AM departure.  However, at 8AM the temperature was still in the low 50's, so I hung around until 9AM to let it warm up. Even then it was very chilly in the shade for the 1st hour or so. 

There are no photos of the countryside today, because there was really not much to see - just more forests and swamps.  The most memorable thing about today's ride was the sorry state of the roads and how rude the drivers were.  For most of the day, I could not ride a straight line because I was dodging potholes and broken pavement.  Throw in that most of the roads had no shoulders and very few drivers bothered to move over, and it made for a somewhat tense ride.

My 1st turtle save of the trip. This fella was hunkered down on the road, so I helped him to the grass.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltYellow bellied slider
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rose SamsonWhat a beautiful turtle! it is just nice that Jeanna help him/her to the grass.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rose SamsonIt was Kerry helping the turtle. Jeanna is driving the car to Seattle. I (Kerry) am doing the cycling and the blogging. So, all these posts are mine this year. Jeanna doesn't mind having a break from writing the journal for this tour :-).
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Historical signs will have to do today, because the scenery was even more boring.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colleton County Courthouse in Walterboro.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Walterboro was deserted on a Sunday morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As soon as I rode through the downtown section of Walterboro, I stopped at the local IGA for a pitstop.  I was just getting back on the bike when I saw Jeanna entering the parking lot.  I was surprised, because we had agreed that we weren't going to meet along the way today.  I mentioned that the store had a nice deli, so we went in and had lunch.  (The deli must have a good reputation because there was a long line of people getting lunch the entire time we were there).

Back on the road after lunch, I decided to take a detour to visit an exhibit at the Walterboro Airport.  

Heart 0 Comment 1
Rose SamsonOh! what a Pretty, pretty LITTLE PLANE! So cute!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
There were several damaged airplanes parked around one of the hangers. Does anybody know what this plane is??
Heart 0 Comment 1
Paul KriegCessna O-2 Skymaster and replaced the O-1 "Bird Dog". Was used for forward air control/observation primarily in Viet Nam. Was the military version of the Cessna 377.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
A disassembled commercial jet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Historical exhibit at the airport.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
You can zoom in to read the details.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 13 miles outside of Waterboro I had a pleasant surprise - a convenience store that is not on the RWGPS maps.  I'm glad I stopped, because I had a very nice time talking to Meka, the cashier, and

Norris Robinson, one of the owners.  I wish you success with the store!

The Four Way Quick Stop is new enough that it does not appear on the mapping software yet.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rose SamsonHey Kerry, You look great next to your bike.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Norris Robinson, one of the owners, was very interested in my bike and trip.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One last historical marker - this was just a couple of miles from the motel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By the time I got to Moncks Corner I was pretty tired and very hungry.  I knew that if I went to our room, I would not leave it until morning, so I called Jeanna and told her I would meet her at the nearby Chinese restaurant. We had a nice dinner, and now that this journal entry is done, I'm going to bed!

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 466 miles (750 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0