Day 47 - ending at Merriman, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2013

Day 47 - ending at Merriman, NE

Posted via email Sun Jun 30 12:18:01 2013 PDT

The light of dawn was coming into the tent at 4:30am, when I woke up. Packed up. The tent was dry - only the ground cloth was wet. Left at 7:32am for the cafe in town: Pheasant Run Restaurant. Had a V8 since they were out of orange juice, and cinnamon raisin toast since the homemade breakfast rolls hadn't arrived at the restaurant yet. Got my Klean Kanteen filled with ice water and talked with other customers and the owner before I left at 8:32am. Stopped by Sacker's to buy some snack bars, another can of punch to-go, and an ice cream bar for eating outside.

Cleared the east side of Hay Springs at 8:46am. This was going to be a "crank out the miles" day, all on US-20. The wind was from the north, so that wasn't helping, though it did keep me cool.

Arrived at Rushville's west side at 10:28am. A day like today made me wish that I hadn't off-loaded my radio at Bill and Laurie's. I saw a Family Dollar store ahead, maybe they have a cheap radio. They did, for $6.50. The package didn't tell what type batteries it took. Opened it up outside and found it uses AAA-size. I have some of those for my flashlights. I crossed the street to the park, where I had a snack bar and my can of punch. What a beautiful day in the shade of the trees, with the gentle breeze.

Left the park at 11:15am, but didn't get very far. I passed the Home Cafe, and thought I'd better fill up with food while I had the chance. Went in and found they were closing. The owner said I should go over to Yoba's Tavern across the street for lunch, so I did. I had a Yoba Bacon Burger Deluxe, barbecue chips, and Dr Pepper. While I ate, I talked with an older lady sitting nearby about gardening and life in Nebraska. Left quite full at 12:28pm.

I noticed in this town, and had noticed in several towns in Kansas, that music is played through outdoor speakers downtown. Now I had my own music, though the only station I could receive very well on my new radio played Country music. Turns out that I was listening to KSDZ - "The Twister". They play Country during the day and Classic Rock at night.

Passed through Clinton at 1:23pm. There were bumps in the shoulder along US-20 caused by wide cracks. Looks like they may be repaired soon, since markings on the highway indicated places for road work signs.

Arrived in Gordon at 2:25pm, after passing the KSDZ radio transmitter/tower west of town. I had marked in my GPS the location of the Dollar General Store in Gordon, so headed there to buy AA-size batteries for the GPS's and a can of punch. Rode over to the Lyons Club pavilion for a break. Called my friend Jim while I was there. He was at the library in Morton, but it was OK to talk, since no one was back where he was. He thought listening to Country music wouldn't hurt me any.

I left the park at 3:36pm, and cleared Gordon's city limits at 3:50pm. Thirty more miles to my destination: Merriman. When I crossed the Cherry County Line at 4:37pm, I lost the shoulder's bumps, but gained some hills. Later the bumps were back. At times traffic allowed riding on the highway, where the road surface was better.

Arrived in Merriman at 7:58pm and found the city's park a short time later. It's full of large cottonwood trees, and has a panel truck box set on the ground, modified for use as the restroom/shower house. Shortly after I arrived, a gentleman from next door came over to welcome me. He does touring on a motorcycle. I decided to set the tent up under the pavilion, to avoid the morning dew from getting on the tent. I need to start out quite early tomorrow morning.

After the tent was loaded with the gear, I rode over to the "Sand Bar" for supper: a nine-inch deluxe pizza. There was one other fellow there when I walked in. Later another gentleman came in. He knew a lot about science, climate, and the local weather. I didn't get away from there until 10:03pm.

Back at the tent, I was too sleepy to write the report. Will do that early in the morning.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $7.98 plus $2 (breakfast) + $3.98 (snacks, punch, ice cream bar) + $6.92 (radio) + $8.79 plus $2 (lunch) + $6.86 (batteries, punch) + $10 plus $2 (supper) = $50.53.

Day 47 - Hay Springs, NE to Merriman, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ sunrise - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ ready to go find breakfast - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Centennial Park - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ time capsule in park - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city park - Rushville, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Hinn's Rushville Auto Supply and the Plains Theatre - Rushville, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ radio station KSDZ - "The Twister" - Gordon, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Rushville history sitting in Gordon +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ weather recording station along US-20 - Cherry County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ batteries hanging on +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ along US-20 - Cherry County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,915 miles (3,082 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0