Day 46 - ending at Hay Springs, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2013

Day 46 - ending at Hay Springs, NE

Posted via email Sat Jun 29 06:55:01 2013 PDT

I was up today at 5:00am, thanks to a persistent train whistle. It was perfect sleeping weather last night, and it looks like a sunny day ahead. Worked on yesterday's report. The tent was somewhat wet, so I took off at 7:35am for the Downtown Diner for breakfast: eggs, pancakes, bacon, orange juice, coffee, and a cinnamon roll for dessert. A lot of "characters" at the diner this morning, teasing each other. And they're my age and older. One table was having a birthday party, which included singing "Happy Birthday". I overheard a story about the rescue squad being called out to nearby Fort Robinson State Park because a person had a tick on them. Before I left, I got the waitress to fill my Klean Kanteen with ice water.

Back at the park, I packed up and left at 9:58am, hoping to make it to Hay Springs. That would get me back on my route, only three days behind schedule. I passed Absalon Food Center on the way out of town, and decided to get a drink for the road. Got a can of AriZona Mucho Mango, which I stuffed in my rolled up sleeping pad. The nice thing about this is the pad insulates the can.

After an uphill climb in town, I arrived at US-20, which, going east, would take me to Hay Springs, after I passed through Chadron. Starting off, the wind was light from the northeast - the direction of the road. The breeze felt good. At 11:52am, I stopped at the bridge over Indian Creek to enjoy my still-cold drink. Later on, closer to Chadron, I saw a neat-looking older semi-truck cab. While I was taking a picture, a fellow drove up on an ATV and said it was a 1961 model.

Arrived at Chadron's western city limits at 1:45pm. At 1:51pm I made it to a place I had pre-marked on my GPS: Helen's Pancake and Steakhouse. Had a perfect sirloin dinner with salad bar and four glasses of Dr Pepper. Left full at 2:59pm.

I'd just cleared Chadron's eastern side when I saw a touring bicyclist on the west-bound shoulder. He was putting air in his front tire. I pulled over, and met Bill Fordyce. He'd left from St. Louis, and is heading for Glacier National Park on his Surly Long Haul Trucker. He took time to give me information, referring to my Nebraska Bicycle Map, on each town on US-20 I plan to pass through. After he was done, he noticed my front tire was flat. Since Chadron was Bill's destination for today, he stayed and kept me company while I fixed the flat. We had fun sharing touring stories. At 4:27pm I was ready to go, so we both took off in our opposite directions.

Going was a little easier for me east of Chadron, since the road angled southeast, and I wasn't going straight into the wind. Crossed into Sheridan County at 6:39pm, and arrived in Hay Springs at 7:10am. I found Sunset RV Park on the southwest side of the town - right where Bill said it would be. Looked around some for where I wanted to set up the tent. Talked to a fellow for a while who'd walked over from the park across the street, then went to nearby Sacker's (gas station/convenience store) for another drink like I'd had this morning. At 7:54pm, I'd decided that site #2 would work for the tent and got set up. After that I checked the bike's tires, added air to both, and replaced one spoke.

I hope to get to Merriman tomorrow - fifty-six miles away (if my math's right). I'd better get some sleep.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $14.34 plus $3 (breakfast) + $0.99 (can of tea) + $16.11 plus $4 (lunch) + $15 (campsite) + $2.48 (apple pie, tea) = $55.92.

Day 46 - Crawford, NE to Hay Springs, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ Cameco Pavilion at Crawford City Park - Crawford, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ passed on my way to breakfast: former Nash Finch Company warehouse, which is now Gibbons Honey Farms - Crawford, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ passed on my way back from breakfast: "No Fireworks Discharge within 300 Feet" - Crawford, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city park entrance - Crawford, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ leaving Crawford City Park - Crawford, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ stashed away in the 'cooler' +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ wetland along US-20 - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Trunk Butte - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill Fordyce at Chadron, Nebraska, on his way to Glacier National Park - June 28, 2013
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ contented cows - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ camping to the right - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ sunset from Sunset RV Park - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,857 miles (2,989 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0