Day 45 - ending at Crawford, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2013

Day 45 - ending at Crawford, NE

Posted via email Fri Jun 28 07:33:01 2013 PDT

Awake this morning at 4:50am. Continued working on yesterday's report. The BlackBerry gave me a "Low Battery" warning when I was about done, so I shut it off and put it on the charger. Except it wouldn't charge. Tried wiggling connections. Nothing. Maybe this car charger is bad - or worse, the charge socket on the BlackBerry itself. Got to thinking the battery was too hot, and the BlackBerry sensed this and wouldn't allow charging. Took the cover off and set it down on a damp paper towel. Still no go. Nothing left to do now until I have AC, and can try that charger.

It was now 8:40am. I ate breakfast: two cans of Beanee Weenees, Pop Tarts, and eight sandwich cookies. Packed up and left at 10:07am, still concerned about the BlackBerry's state-of-charge. My picture-taking today would have to be quick.

I continued east on Montrose Road, once I got the bike out of the hills where I'd spent the night. It was a sunny day with light wind. Stopped for a break in the shade of a road-side cottonwood tree at 10:51am. Ate a bag of Skittles, then got going again at 11:12am. Turned south onto Hat Creek Road at 11:43am. I was following yesterday's waypoint route to Toadstool Geologic Park. After that I'd have to decide if I was going to Chadron or Crawford. It seemed like a hot day - maybe because there wasn't much wind. There was shade ahead under some cottonwood trees, but I needed to turn east on Orella Road before I got there. Maybe I'll find shade along this road. Nope. Finally took a break in the sun.

Just before I got to Toadstool Road, I noticed the rear tire was just about flat. Stopped by railroad tracks at 2:01pm to fix that. First checked the outsides of both tires for thorns and needles. Found a few. Then I removed the rear tire and patched the two holes I found in the tube. Got that back together, and decided the front was soft. Took that apart and patched two holes in its tube. After I had the front done, I noticed the back tire was low already. Took the rear back apart and just replaced the tube this time. Replaced one broken spoke while I was at it. Also tightened the rear basket's front mounting screws - they were getting loose.

Finally, I was loaded and ready to go at 4:37pm. I had decided by then that closer Crawford would be my evening destination. I had information in my GPS that they have free camping there. I was ready to get back to civilization. I was almost out of water.

Toadstool Road parallels a double set of railroad tracks, and angles southeast toward Crawford. I was happy about both, since the road wouldn't have too many hills, and it is a direct route to where I'm going. Passed the entrance to Toadstool Park. I'd wanted to see that, but considering the time, I didn't ride the mile down its entrance road. As I pedaled on, I kept thinking about different ways to get around the BlackBerry's charging problem. If the problem was the BlackBerry's charge socket, my latest idea was to rig AA-size batteries to run it, using stuff I'd buy at Radio Shack.

At 5:45pm I called my wife using my TracFone, since I hadn't emailed out last night where I was. She hadn't been concerned.

Toadstool Road turned east for two miles when I got closer to Crawford. Then, at 6:31pm, I was at NE-71/NE-2. Pavement! Hadn't seen that since yesterday morning. It still seemed hot. I was sweating on my way into town. Arrived at Crawford's city limits at 7:00pm, and stumbled upon the Downtown Diner at 7:08pm. They were open. On my mind most was ice - ice water, ice soda. I had both with my dinner: meat loaf, mashed potatoes, and salad. As I paid my bill, the waitress told me how to get to the park, and also let me know that the diner re-opens tomorrow at 6:00am.

Made it to close-by Cameco Park. Green grass most everywhere. I finally found (at 8:35pm) a non-watered area (dirt/weeds) next to the circle drive entrance. Got the tent up and loaded. Tried the BlackBerry's car charger again. Now it's working! Maybe it was too hot for it this morning. Anyway, I'm back in business, and got yesterday's report sent in.

Lots of teenagers in large pickup trucks cruising through the park this evening. Also hearing fireworks now and then, and almost constant trains. When it's quiet, I'm hearing the brook behind the tent.

Worked some on the report, then called it a day.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $14.39 plus $3 (supper) = $17.39.

Day 45 - Montrose, NE to Crawford, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ morning light - Oglala National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ not exactly level +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ a schoolhouse? - Sioux County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Hat Creek near Montrose - Sioux County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ with the BlackBerry against a window of the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church - Montrose, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking north from the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church parking lot - Montrose, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ fixing flats along Orella Road - Sioux County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west at entrance road to Toadstool Geologic Park - Oglala National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking southeast at BNSF tracks - Oglala National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ fence-line following the terrain beside Toadstool Road - Sioux County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ a toadstool . . . someday . . . maybe . . . ? +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ crossing Sand Creek on Toadstool Road - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Little Cottonwood Creek ahead on Toadstool Road - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the pavement of NE-2 - Dawes County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Downtown Diner (Frontier Restaurant and Bar) - Crawford, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 1,813 miles (2,918 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0