Day 48 - still at Merriman, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2013

Day 48 - still at Merriman, NE

Posted via email Sun Jun 30 22:39:01 2013 PDT

I was awakened this morning at 4:32am by a cattle truck that parked on the road next to the park. Got started on writing yesterday's report. By 7:00am it was almost ready for sending in. Just one picture to delete . . . and . . . I did it again! Deleted the whole report instead of just the picture. So much for my early start. The daily devotional email I received this morning discussed resting on Sundays. I have a leak in my front tube, and I'd like to take a shower. A nap would be nice, too. OK, I'll take the day off - maybe even go to church.

Re-wrote most of the report, then about 8:50am, I walked around town looking for a church. One building had been a church, but was now the Village Hall-Senior Center. Found another actual church - Grace Lutheran Church, but no cars were around. Around 9:30am, I rode over to the Sand Cafe on the east side of town, after putting some air in the front tire. Had Breakfast #5 plus coffee and orange juice. I asked about church services in town. The cafe owner called someone to find out what time the Lutheran service was (11:15am). I noticed outside as I was leaving the cafe, that there are water sprinklers mounted and running on the sheet metal roof. I assume that's a way to keep the inside of the building cool.

Back at the park, I figured I had just enough time for a shower before I went over to the church. With no ventilation to speak of in the shower house, I was wetter when I walked out of the place than when I stepped out of the shower. I called home to get the correct time, since my automatic watch loses time. Our younger son answered. I enjoyed talking with him about his job, and found out I was four minutes behind schedule.

I rode over to the church, and was the last to arrive. The pastor (Gerry Weaver) greeted me and explained the order of the service. I didn't know any of the hymns, but they were easy to sing with the organ playing. I didn't count, but I think there were about nine of us total there this morning. Last week's attendance was five. Next Sunday is Pastor Weaver's last service here. He's leaving to serve a church in Manito, Illinois, a town only twenty-five miles from where I live. Everyone leaving church walked home, except Pastor Weaver, who lives in Crookston.

Back at the park I finished yesterday's report re-write and sent it in. The fellow next door to the park came back over, so I asked about staying another night. He said I could stay until it snows, if I like. He talked a little about how things used to be in town - dances in the dance hall every Saturday and car races at the track.

Near 1:30pm I rode over to the Sand Cafe again, this time for their buffet. It was very good. I had a second plate and cherry cheese cake for dessert. They're closing for a week's vacation, starting tomorrow, so the owner wrapped up two cinnamon rolls for me (for free) for tomorrow morning.

Next, nap time - from 2:55pm to 4:00pm. Shortly after waking up, one of three kids asked me what I was doing in their park. I explained my bike trip, showed them the lights on the bike, my helmet and safety flag, and let them look inside the tent. Started work on the bike. The kids helped. They checked for broken spokes (found none) and helped me look for tube leaks in the sink full of water. The front tube had one leak. One spare tube had one hole, the other spare had five! Not going to patch that one. Got things back together and oiled the chain.

The kids went home and I went for supper (at 6:30 pm) over at the Sand Bar. This time I had a microwave sandwich: a Chuckwagon. There were several in the bar this time, and I'd noticed lots of vehicles downtown. A local patron told me there had been a rodeo nearby. I finished my supper, said goodbye to those who had been listening to my bike trip stories, and went back to the park. Decided to make a campfire - something I hadn't had time for yet on this trip. There was some wood, but mostly bark, piled in the fire ring. The wood here sure starts easily. Kept my water jug nearby, but the fire stayed contained as I watched it.

The wind has picked up and is coming from the east. I hope that's not the story tomorrow. I've got to make it to Valentine. Pastor Weaver said there are some hills around Cody. I just looked at the map. I'll be losing an hour tomorrow also, as I cross the time line back into Central Time.

Better send this report in before I delete it.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $9.50 plus $1 (coffee kitty) plus $2 (breakfast) + $7.97 plus $2 (lunch) + $3.85 plus $1 (supper) = $27.32.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ peaceful evening at the city park - Merriman, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0