Day 4 - Mostly Buses to Nan - Package Deal Part 2: Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2019

Day 4 - Mostly Buses to Nan

The idea was to lighten the load and improve my packing arrangements.  Thanks to a couple of hardware stores, I got enough rope to fasten things down more and succeeded.

The bus ride was insane, in some ways I was glad I not to be biking this particular stretch because it was narrow and busy.  But perhaps there may have been alternative backroads that the bus didn't take.  Anyways it took a few hours to Nan where I was last year, then the electricity cut out on arrival at the hotel. No particular reason why, it's happened twice now on this trip and I've never experienced it in Thailand before.

Awesome dig for $20
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now that I'm within striking distance of the Laos border, the plan is to find a way to get the bike across. I've been researching all over the place online and many rumors and reports have come up since 2017 saying they ban bicycles and motorbikes at entry points within Sayaboury province.  So this has me racking my brains for a way to make this work. A few ideas I have in mind, but whatever happens, you'll need to stay tuned to this space.

Today's ride: 23 km (14 miles)
Total: 255 km (158 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0