Bangkok and End of Trip - Package Deal Part 2: Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2018

Bangkok and End of Trip

After a few days chilling in Siem Reap, up nice and late after 11am I enjoyed another meal and chat at Ivy's guesthouse and got set to bounce. They finished my laundry early and when packing I was appreciating the lighter load. Whether that means they skimmed some of my clothes or they just packed more efficiently I'll never know, but what I do know is that on this particular cycle tour I was carrying around too much stuff. This is a habit that I can't seem to shake but will make a better effort for next tour to pack far less.

It was a short easy ride to the airport so it warranted a nice long pre-stop at the pub outside of town I had passed by earlier. This basically ate into my buffer time I had planned in case something went wrong at the airport but I figured it would all go well which it did.

First thing on entering was to shrinkwrap the bike and check it in. I hate flying with the bike because the ground staff always mishandle it, so the shrinkwrap offered some protection. Eventually for my global tour I'll be investing in a bike case. For now it is worth the extra $8 or so to have the bike wrapped.

The flight itself was uneventful and it was so short, really just up and down. But it saved me 5 days of riding. On average, an hour in the air is about a week on the bike. Go figure that one. After clearing immigration I got a cab downtown, reassembled the bike, aired up the tires, then rode out to the suburbs where the guesthouse was.

Today's ride: 11 km (7 miles)
Total: 1,444 km (897 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0