Day 3 - Drones - Package Deal Part 2: Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2018

Day 3 - Drones

C&C Resort to Phayao

After a most restful sleep and feeling fully charged of energy, I set off from the deserted resort and got an early start. The forecast was calling for heavy rain all day and so I was prepared to wimp out and Grab my way to the next town (essentially the Uber of SE Asia), but it turns out the rain happened at night and was just petering off when I left. The weather would stay cloudy all day, so in a word, perfect for cycling!

Excellent room at the C&C Resort
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road turned into more hills right away and topped out near a waterfall.  It was at this waterfall stop that I met Pat from Australia who introduced me to his drone and all the neat things it could do. He was an expert at handling it and showed me all sorts of demos. The real kicker was how fast it could accelerate and catch up to cars on the highway as he demonstrated. He also flew it kilometers away to some nearby mountains and this took place in a matter of minutes. I was astonished. But that was not all, he explained the tracking feature where the drone can follow you automatically while cycling. The possibilities began to be insane, just think of how this could enhance the vlogging aspect of a cycle tour. Attach a GoPro to the drone and you'll be amazed. The prices are certainly coming down and it all folds into a small case which is easily carried around so it's now definitely on my mind for a tour enhancement.

Waterfall park
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hills begin in earnest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Phayao
Heart 0 Comment 0

After that stop it was pretty much all downhill to Phayao where I took up his suggestion and stopped off at Phutong Place Hotel. Excellent value for money and the rooms would probably cost $200 where I'm from. Here it's a nice 500 baht.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Strange looking hotel decor
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 86 km (53 miles)
Total: 232 km (144 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0