Watlington to a secret location not far from Heathrow Airport. - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2012

Watlington to a secret location not far from Heathrow Airport.

After a very good sleep I awoke to the dreaded sound of raindrops on the tent. Rain, my least favorite cycling condition - YUK - time to man-up and get on with it. I would have been out of the campsite by 0830, but got talking to a very interesting guy who was planning a Lands End to John O'Groats trip by bike this summer, and wanted to know some details. Not only had walked the same trip many years before, but he had crossed Canada in a VW camper in the 1970's with a young family. It was 0900 by the time I rolled out of the campsite.

I turned straight into Watlington Hill where I made slow progress, but was distracted by an aerial display put on by what I believe were Red Kites, at times flying directly above no more than about 10 metres away.

Slow progress soon turned into speedy progress when I was joined by Michael, a local rider from Wargrave out for a morning ride who joined me for about 10 miles, showing me the quietest roads and providing very good conversation. I'm sorry if I slowed you down Michael, but I was going as fast as I could whilst still talking!

Michael
Heart 0 Comment 0

I met up with Lofty, a very dear friend of more years than I care to remember, at his boat in Windsor, where we sat, chatted and washed down toast and biscuits with, yes you've guessed it, tea.

Lofty. Marvellous!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After that it was a short ride to Mum and Dad's house where I will be spending a few days before flying on Friday.

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 232 miles (373 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0