San Mateo to Rocky Point: The Steep Ravine Environmental Campground - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2012

San Mateo to Rocky Point: The Steep Ravine Environmental Campground

The day was planned to start leisurely so I could skype my daughter at 10am before leaving. Woody had to get up at 5.30am to catch his flight back to Calgary, and as I couldn't get back to sleep and didn't want to waste the morning, the plan changed. As I was now leaving during rush hour I was unable to put the bike on the BART train, so ended up cycling all the way to Daly City and beyond, which didn't turn out as bad as I had expected, and stopped en-route at a cafe to skype.

Having just ridden up the steep hill from Cliff House, I stopped to take a photo of a fire engine at a picturesque station and have a snack. One of the fire fighters appeared and started chatting, ending in a tour of the station and a refilling of the water bottles. Thanks Tom.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After crossing the Golden Gate Bridge along with all the other tourists on rental bikes and having lunch at Sausalito I was merrily cycling along in my happy way without a care in the world and unfortunately not even bothering to look at the bike path signs, resulting in a steep detour to get back on the Route 1, using bottom gear for the first time of the trip, and not the last time of the day. When I saw signs for the Rocky Point - Steep Ravine Environmental Campground I was ready to call it a day and went to see if I could stay. What followed confused me, but I'm still smiling so all's well. The warden came back to me after an initial enquiry where I was chatting to Linda and Murphy and offered a cabin for $100 or a tent pitch for $32. After seeing my horror at the cost, Murphy offered to put me up in his cabin, at which point the warden said I could have a cabin for nothing, and wouldn't even take a donation. I don't want to belittle the generosity showed to me by everyone so far, but I think that being at the beginning of the touring season, people are probably still finding it a novelty, which will no doubt wear off as more and more people take to the roads.

Having crossed the Golden Gate Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

After refilling my stomach and then having a strip wash in the restroom I joined Linda and Murphy for tea, snacks, route advice and good company. Murphy has cycled the Pacific Coast 4 times, so was well placed to offer some sound and well appreciated advice.

I was tucked up early, just after it got dark, so I would be able to rise early and get on the road by 7, to get tomorrow's miles in before 2, which is when the wind picks up strength, and seeing as it's a head wind i'll leave it to your imagination to decide how welcome that is!

Home for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 329 miles (529 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0