Port au Choix to Portland Creek Pond - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2012

Port au Choix to Portland Creek Pond

Yesterday was spent doing what should be done on a rest day - nothing. That's not entirely true, as I ate lots, slept lots, saw a few sights and cleaned my bike. In the evening whilst cooking dinner I tripped over one of the guy lines on the tent and put a massive L shaped rip in the fly sheet. Fortunately I carry some of what is probably the stickiest tape in the world for occasions like this, and made a quick repair until I can get a proper one done.

Watching the locals at work.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oops, that's what happens when your size 12's fall out with the tent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning I was away in good time, it's amazing what difference a rest day makes, and when I saw a laundromat at Hawkes Bay and found out there was wifi there too, decided it was time for a rest stop. Whilst waiting for my smalls to lose their smells I was checking emails, and heard from Kate that Kim and Debbie had rented a car and were exploring the Northern Peninsula. In an excited state I got back on the road, and closely checked out every oncoming car in case I should see them, when I saw a car behind in my mirror with them in it.

Kim and Debbie. A great couple, and the origin of many happy times.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We had lunch together back at Hawkes Bay, and caught up on everything that had happened since we last saw each other at Velorution in Sault Ste Marie, and after many hugs, handshakes and promises got back on the road again, much much happier for having seen this great couple again. The afternoon was filled with beautiful scenery and great riding, and I decided to stop at the Mountain Waters Resort Park, a tired campground where I negotiated a serviced site for the price of a non serviced one, before eating what seems to be my staple these days - pasta, reading and going to bed early. Another great day in Paradise.

Beautiful long stretches of straight empty road with lots to see.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 6,802 miles (10,947 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0