Franquelin to Port-Cartier - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2012

Franquelin to Port-Cartier

Breakfast spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning started perfectly, with breakfast at a picnic table at the side of the road, chatting to a local, then shortly afterwards seeing a whale - although it was too far out and too quickly passed to get a photo. From there on the roads became very hilly all the way to Baie Trinite, by which time I was very ready for an extended lunch break. Whilst descending a 12% gradient with a rough surface I was passed far too closely by an impatient motorist, causing me to hit a bump and my new pan to become seperated from the handle holding it to the bike. I did go back for it, and it now has some impressive battle scars.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical road scene from this mornings ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch the contrast couldn't have been greater, with flat smooth tarmac and a tail wind. I was enjoying myself so much I didn't want to stop, and it was only because I was running out of time that I stopped at Camping Le Paradis at Port-Cartier, and made full use of all the facilities to get somewhere close to clean again.

Riviere-Aux-Rochers at Port-Cartier
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 6,171 miles (9,931 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0