Courtenay to Saltery Bay - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 23, 2012

Courtenay to Saltery Bay

After saying goodbye to Nigel and Chelsea I headed to Courtenay to do some much needed laundry. In hindsight this wasn't my best idea, as I missed the ferry to Powell River and had to wait 4 1/2 hours for the next one. Maybe I should start planning at least some things. Anyway, it gave me a chance to dry out my tent which was packed away wet on Monday morning, and look around Comox.

The journal has been getting a little neglected lately, so upon arrival in Powell River I headed to the shopping centre for some of Safeway's wifi to catch up before heading down the coast. It was a lovely evening to be riding, so I didn't stop before arriving at the State Park at Saltery Bay shortly after 8, having passed a couple heading in the opposite direction having also missed their earlier ferry and making the most of the weather.

The tent went up on a gravelly site (not my favourite) as the light was fading, and I had decided to make an extra effort to be ready for the 0925 sailing from the ferry terminal a short ride from the site in the morning.

One of the many totem poles gracing the area, this one just south of Powell River.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,880 miles (3,026 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0