Astoria to Bay Center - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2012

Astoria to Bay Center

I've started shedding some weight from my bags today. Not only was I able to give away the maps of Oregon I was carrying, but I finally finished the cabbage i've been lugging around since Pacific City. It would make a big difference going up the hills, but now i'm in Washington State, there don't seem to be as many of them - at least not yet!

The Astoria-Megler Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was away from Astoria in good time, and across the Astoria-Megler Bridge before the traffic got too heavy, and I didn't encounter any logging trucks on it. Fortunately. I stopped and chatted for a while with an English guy, Ian, before going to the Tourist Information at Seaview for some maps of Washington and ferry timetables, then to the launderette for some much needed washing. Fortunately this one had a restroom, so I was able to wash the clothes I had been wearing a bit more discreetly than last time.

In to Washington.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Unusually I was in shorts and T shirt by 10 this morning, and the socks came off for the first time of the trip whilst cycling today, so you can imagine that the weather has improved drastically.

Relieving boredom on the quiet road.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Soon after I stopped for lunch I met a South African guy, who I was able to offload the maps to, who recommended the KOA Campground at Bay Center. After my experience at the Eureka site I had vowed never to visit another of their sites, but this one has more than made up for it, and there's a Northern Irish guy here who has been good company. It seems lately that the majority of people I am bumping into on the road or at campsites are British. It's rare to encounter so many other touring cyclists in the UK, and now I know why, they're all over here!

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,247 miles (2,007 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0