A secret location not far from Heathrow Airport to Milton Keynes. - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2012

A secret location not far from Heathrow Airport to Milton Keynes.

It was an early start this morning and although it was light I had to put the lights on as it was a misty morning. In fact they stayed on most of the day for the same reason. I decided to go through the Windsor Great Park again, and was rewarded by a magnificent close up view of a stag. Whilst fumbling to take my camera out he started to move away, but I managed to catch him on film (or silicon).

Nice rack!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Although it was a bit out of the way, I went to Henley upon Thames where my brother was working, and was rewarded with some lovely views. And a mug of tea.

Look Claire, he really is working.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Whilst travelling you are often dependant on the goodwill of others, for water, directions or the use of a loo. Up until today everyone I have approached has been helpful. When I spotted a campsite, then politely asked the lady sweeping leaves if I could use their loo, I was suprised to be told no. Maybe this is a good indicator that I am in the south-east of the country.

Shame on you!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rest of the day was fun, with many quiet roads and not too many busy ones. Apart from the obvious "riding on the other side", there are many otther differences immediately noticeable now that I am back on British roads; the speed of the traffic, the narrowness of the roads, the absence of any shoulder and the more rapidly changing scenery and views.

Now that I am riding on "the other side" I have had to change the mirror over.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It is getting dark at 6pm at the moment, and the ground is very soggy, so I am staying in a youth hostel at Milton Keynes (which is in an 18th century farmhouse). What's happening to me, am I going soft...?

Milton Keynes's youth hostel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 8,876 miles (14,285 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0