Chama-Tres Piedras.: Cycling bliss. - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2016

Chama-Tres Piedras.: Cycling bliss.

I had the alarm set for 5:15 AM. We were planning on an earlier departure because of the long, tough day. This morning's breakfast was granola from home. I had an entire quart of milk to finish this morning. I started the day well hydrated!

Six AM had Ken outside and Marty at the front door. Marty and I rolled out together. It was downhill and quite crisp as the sun hadn't come up yet. I was surprised at the amount of traffic for the hour on a Saturday. Not that there was much traffic, but I was expecting none.

Thirteen fast miles down the road we were in Tierra Amarilla. The two cafes right on the highway were closed. The gas station was open. I don't know what services were available in town, other than no lodging. Tierra Wool (a weaving co-op) does have rooms to rent in Los Ojos, but no food.

There were a number of little wetland areas with frogs chirping and chirping. Do frogs chirp? Lots of birds. They were definitely chirping.

Just past Tierra Amarilla and up a nice hill (a preview of what was to come), we made our big left hand turn for the day. I stopped for a potty break. Ken got ahead. Marty got behind. I was alone for a number of miles. I enjoyed looking to the left and to the right, reliving the last trip through here.

The road wasn't quite as up as I expected. That was a pleasure, but also a caution. I enjoyed the almost level road, but knew we had some big climbing ahead and I didn't want to do it in one chunk. Once we made the turn, the traffic dropped to almost nothing.

Yes! This is another wonderful cycling day. How could it be any better? I had fun day dreaming about our upcoming big trip and what a good idea it was to warm up on this trip.

I knew that mile 31.8 was the top. 10, 580 feet. No name, besides Genny's biting black fly pass. Wait. No black flies this time. Not even too many mosquitoes. I did see lots and lots of wild iris. I tried to get a photo of a whole field of them. The flowers are so small, they didn't really show up.

There are plenty of aspen along here. They didn't look healthy last time we were through and they still don't look healthy. The ponderosa pine look good. Hmmm - that gathering cloud doesn't look good. It looks very big and dark. It's only 11 AM - what is it doing so early? What happened to the saying of "off the top by noon to not get wet?". Someone around here is too prompt with the clouds and rain.

Temps were very nice. As we passed through Tierra Amarilla a clock said 55 degrees. I'd estimate today stayed firmly in the 70's. For me, that was perfect cycling.

I gradually caught up with Ken. He hadn't had as much saddle time this summer and his rear end was letting him know. Plus, I allowed myself the luxury of thinking that I am lighter and stronger this summer. I certainly FEEL lighter and stronger. Ken and I stayed together all the rest of the day, since he was taking frequent butt breaks.

We had a nice stop at the very top. I had promised myself a burrito for a treat and I ate most of it. We knew we still had two more short climbs. Our legs weren't done yet.

I took my flag off and stored it along the top tube, preparing for the downhill. The down was a bit of a disappointment as the road surface wasn't as good and had expansion cracks. If it bugged me, I'm sure the diamond frame riders were suffering!

I don't know if the wind switched or if the road angle changed slightly, but now we had a helpful tailwind. Yes! The clouds were holding off. How could the day get better?

I longingly noted the cabin we had rented on the last trip through. It would be just fine with me to stop there. But Deb had sold it. Now she owned the restaurant in Tres Piedras. It has a couple of very spartan bedrooms for rent. We were happy to be there! Tres Piedras itself looks very iffy. I think the restaurant is the only going concern. The biggest business in town is a huge junk yard. Then the restaurant.

The next choice for lodging is the Earthship houses outside of Taos. Very interesting and very expensive. Taos was another 30 miles. I would NOT want to do that. Spartan lodging is just fine with me.

Ken wanted to eat right away. I promised I'd take the world's fastest shower if I could shower first. I wanted to get the dirt out of my eyes. Our bikes were parked around back, so we had to haul our stuff inside. I took the quick shower. Then waited and waited. I gave up and ordered a salad. I was completely finished before Ken meandered in. He said it was so close to four PM (Tom's official beer drinking hour) that he was just going to wait to drink a beer and eat later.

We sat and talked for a bit. I saw Jacinto pull in. He had gotten some wet. He had seen Marty at the first top and thought he would be awhile to town.

Now I'm going to go have a beer and see what the guys have to say.

There is live music later tonight, being Saturday and all. I was a bit concerned about how late they would play, but it's supposed to finish at 8 PM. We go to bed early, you know!

Tomorrow is an easy day to Espanola on busy Hwy 285. Our breakfast here is included, but doesn't start until 8 AM. I guess that will work, although I was hoping to beat the traffic.

I hope your day was as good as mine. I feel strong!

Ken prepares his Co Motion Americano for departure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marty has his Catrike Expedition ready to go.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marty makes our big navigation accomplishment today. We had a left hand turn onto Highway 64 - otherwise known as cycling bliss!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical scenery today. Aren't we lucky?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ken and I hop scotched each other all day. I got a photo of myself out of the deal!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Those clouds are looking a little threatening. The afternoon thunderstorms are very prompt around here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We took plenty of short breaks. Today had lots of climbing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not quite sure what this was about, but it doesn't look friendly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We made it! 61 tough, but excellent miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto arrives at the Chili Line Depot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 112 miles (180 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0