Introduction. - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

Introduction.

I live in a fantastic cycling destination - western Colorado. As wonderful as the riding is in my area, I find it hard to push myself to do long training rides in preparation of touring. I definitely feel the benefit of putting in back to back 50 mile days before a tour, but it is so easy to cut those rides short.

Thus came the decision to do a training tour. Instead of forcing myself to do those long days around home, I'd ride them on tour!

I feel as if I'm selling this tour short by calling it a training tour. But that is how it came about, wanting to be prepared for the big tour this summer and not being bored while training for it. I had wanted to revisit northern New Mexico since our ride there with Ken, Jim, and Genny. Hwy 64 into Tres Piedras is top notch cycling. I loved staying at the Casa Benavides in Taos. I am some sad about not getting a layover day there, but I had trouble keeping the route down to seven days. I think there will be a longer tour in this area in my near future!

Spring training was tough this year. We had far too much rain and cold. This day was shorts weather. Yay!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is a link to our previous NM tour:

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0