Antonito-Chama: Let's get those legs warmed up on TWO passes! - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2016

Antonito-Chama: Let's get those legs warmed up on TWO passes!

I was awake at 5:30, but just barely managed to be ready by 7 AM. I had leftover chicken ranchero for breakfast. It was a bit early for real food, but we had brought it from home, so it needed eaten. I had a homemade ham and egg burrito to eat during the day. It had been safely refrigerated or in the cooler since I made it. Those of you who know Jacinto, know that he doesn't consider refrigeration necessary.

Marty was ready to go. We took a couple of photos and headed off. Oren, this is great navigating here - we had a right out of the parking lot, then an immediate left onto Highway 17. That's it. Pedal, pedal, pedal.

We had a slight headwind, it was 51 degrees, and sunny. Looks like a great day to ride! I tried to tuck the thought that I wasn't well trained in the back of my mind and decided to just pedal and enjoy the day. I had all day to get there.

I thought both Ken and Tom would soon appear as they were almost ready. Marty and I chatted going down the road. We had only ridden together once as part of a larger group, so really didn't know each other. By the time this trip is over, we will know all sorts of things about each other. Gulp.

Grandpa and the nine year old birthday boy. They were out cruising in the very nice Shelby Mustang.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ken, Kelly, Jacinto, and Marty. Notice Jacinto is not dressed for riding yet. He is up and it's before 7 AM. Do you believe it?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marty (Catrike Expedition) and Tom in front of the old church. I had been looking and looking for it. Yep, it was still there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Are these wild iris? They were everywhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Marty and I rode together for about two hours. Tom caught up with us by the old church and we took a couple of photos. I thought I wouldn't see him again, as he usually takes right off, but we did hop scotch each other all day.

We passed several campgrounds in the area. There was lots of fishing activity and people out enjoying the day. Traffic was very light. I had a lady pull up next to me and yell out the window that 'they are large and long'. I saw she had a wide load sign on her car and I could also see something big coming up in my mirror. I pulled way off the road. No problems. Got back on the road. Hmmm. The woman said 'they'. I kept an extra close watch on my mirror. Yep. Here's another one. Got off the road again. Another five minutes. Another big one. Mirrors are handy if you're on a bicycle and really a necessity if you ride a recumbent.

Several years ago we had stopped at Horca and eaten a Payday candy bar. Marty and Tom were stopped here. I enjoy remembering previous tours as I pass through areas. I kept telling Marty - "right over here this happened, right over there, that happened" Then I tried to not do that as I'm sure it wasn't interesting to him.

Right after Horca, mile 22, the road took an upward tilt and there was a five miles to the top sign. OK. Here we go. My typical method is to ride one mile, take a break, ride another mile. This climb was quite nice. I expanded my one mile criteria.

1.60 miles up the first big climb. Exactly. Some of us like to watch the numbers to pace the climb. This was a five mile climb. I made two stops and then I was at the top. It's a nice climb with a middle chain ring section for about a mile.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Marcelo and his wife were cutting beetle kill trees for firewood. He said it took three loads this size to heat their house all winter. I've always said bicycle riding makes dinner taste good, but I bet cutting firewood all day makes dinner taste even better.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We haven't been down in this area of the state for several years. It is very pretty. Lots of aspen trees, ponderosa pine, skunk cabbage, wild iris, plenty of green in general. The traffic was light today. This is a wonderful road. Why had we been up on 160 riding over Wolf Creek Pass, when we could have been down here in the quiet?

I noticed a number of pick up trucks pulling trailers loaded with cut up beetle kill pines. I stopped to ask Marcelo if they were selling wood, was that why I saw so many people? No, they were getting wood for themselves. I bet at least ten vehicles were off the side of the road being loaded with wood.

Ken got ahead of me while I was talking. He wasn't at the pass sign. I didn't see him again. I thought perhaps Jacinto would be coming along. Nope. Hmmm. I could see some very gray clouds on the right. Soon thunder started. That's early today. I'd better keep pedaling. I stopped for a couple of very quick photos and a few bites of my burrito and headed down hill. I was quite sure I could beat the rain. It looked to be local at the top of the pass.

I heard the steam engine sound it's horn a couple of different times, but didn't see it. Hearing the sound echo through the mountains was special. I will remember that for years.

First pass in the bag. It was an excellent, steady climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You know that saying about being off the top by noon to avoid the thunderstorms? It was 12:03 at the top of the second climb, I could hear thunder. I'd better step up my game. This is mighty prompt!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back, I don't see the guys coming, but it is sunny that direction at the moment. Only Ken was ahead of me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't even cross the road for a photo, the weather was way too threatening.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This scene was worth putting the brakes on to photograph.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The last several times we've ridden into Chama, it was from Pagosa Springs. Coming this direction, we go all the way through the long town. I looked left and right, thinking I might see Ken somewhere. Nope. Not even at the grocery store. I stopped there for a deli chicken, potato salad, and chips for lunch. I was wanting some cut up melon, but three pounds was too much for a touring cyclist. A banana would have to do.

Some little girls were having a bake sale outside. I bought Jacinto a couple of cherry empanadas. When I gave them to him, he was quite skeptical they were homemade. It was for a good cause.

As I was preparing to leave, I saw Tom riding past. He didn't need anything at the store, so we continued on the the Elk Horn together. We were well placed on the far side of town for exit in the morning.

Ken had checked in and was gone. ??? I guessed he was at the neighboring cafe, eating lunch. Tom said he'd had a hard climb, perhaps a shower would freshen him up. I was just getting organized and going to the office to get ice when Jacinto showed up. He was perhaps a total of a half hour behind me getting to town, but had left Antonito two hours later. That's the story of my life. I did have that nice chat with the people cutting wood.

For the second night in a row, we don't have a refrigerator in our room. Darn. That's a real plus. I couldn't get the soap or shampoo to work in the shower. Mostly I just got wet and got my clothes wet. Hurmph.

We sat outside and ate our lunch. Jacinto had his habanero pistachios that he'd brought from home. Marty rode up as we sat outside. He said he had rain and hail both at the top of the pass. We will get the whole story over dinner, I'm sure.

Jacinto was bemoaning his lack of allergy medicine and our lodging placement way past town. Ken had an original idea. There was a car in the parking lot with a for sale sign. Jacinto could go test ride the car to the grocery store and back, picking up his medicine on the test ride. Good thinking, Ken! We had a good laugh.

Dinner was next door at the Elk Horn Cafe. The salad was excellent, the chili lime chicken, acceptable. Jacinto and I shared a beer to celebrate our first day.

We (or at least, I) had a wonderful cycling day. It's an excellent start to our tour. Tomorrow has a bigger climb without a name. Highway 64 has even less traffic than 17. It's going to be good cycling!

Edit: Jim Fitch reminded me that Genny named the big climb Biting Fly Pass for the annoying flies we couldn't outrun last time. So true!

Marty's photo of Jacinto in-between the two passes. Many days I don't see him at all on the road, he starts so late. Photos on the road are few. Thanks Marty!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are all in town and showered. Laundry is done. Now it's snack time!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 50 miles (80 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0