Things for small minds to ponder - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2010

Things for small minds to ponder

A week before I left my friend Scott sent me this e-mail...

There is a young man in Texas named Braeton Doyle who is my #1 fan, (and my only fan I am not related to.) He was born with issues that cause him to have to use a walker and braces, and sometimes even a wheelchair. He also has cystic fibrosis, and recently fell and is currently in Texas Children's Hospital getting a 2.5 hour brain and spine MRI because the numbness from his fall has spread from his hip and leg all the way to his mouth. The doctors are concerned it is a neurological problem. My request is that if you don't leave before the Ride for Braeton bracelets arrive, would you wear one on your trip? He cannot ride a bike, but he tells other kids that it is okay because Mr. Scotty rides for me. I want to get other riders riding for him as well to keep his spirits up as he faces some very serious health issues. The bracelets are free, not to raise money, just to support him...(and) so that he can follow along on your ride knowing you Ride for Braeton.

The next day at the shop Scott told me that Braeton is an "old soul." Makes you wonder why the worst things seem to happen to the best people? But I guess that's for small minds to ponder...

...but sure, Braenton, I have a better place for the band than on my wrist, its on the break hood on the left side of my handle bars. Hang in there pal!

Karen

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 427 miles (687 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0