Day 4: Over the pass! - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2010

Day 4: Over the pass!

What a fun day! Aside from a short slog to the top of the pass the day was mostly downhill or flat. :-) After yesterday it was just what the doctor ordered.

I got a slow start but wasn't too worried about it. And after a great breakfast at a little place near Kirkwood I was off--or should I say "up". It took me a while to chug up the pass, especially with all the stopping to take pictures. But finally I made it! Wooo-hooo! At the top I had a nice chat with some of the rangers getting the station open (at the top of Carson Pass) for the season. It wasn't officially open but they gave me some water and took my picture under the "Carson Pass" sign.

...after that I started down. While snapping some pics just on the other side I met my first tourer...and then a few miles later another. I have a feeling I will start meeting more, now that I'm more or less on the route.

After that it was fast and fun! I passed over my first state line today. And according to Vinny, it's time to lube my chain. OK, Vinny, will do!

I enjoyed the scenery on BOTH sides of the pass very much, though both were very different.

Tomorrow is more or less a rest day for me when I meet Fred before we will continue our way west on Friday. I'm going to start the day at the hotel laundry room. WOO-HOOO again!

Thanks to everyone who has written and commented on my guestbook. I've been pretty busy so have not had time to answer all the comments (and e-mails) with official responses, but I do appreciated it and will try to get out responses when I can.

Karen (and The Trucker)

Typical morning scenery on the west side of Carson Pass
Heart 1 Comment 0
That lake is still frozen! Though the weather was pretty nice for climbing. The only "extra" clothes I wore was a vest while climbing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it! Finally!
The climb was warm but I layered up with almost everything I had for the ride down. OK, maybe I didn't need 3 layers but I didn't want to feel chilled
Heart 1 Comment 0
The ranger station at the top of Carson Pass. They were fixing it up for the season opening next week.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The east side of Carson Pass. Note the road down on the far left. WOO-HOOO!
It doesn't look steep and far in the picture but it was.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just to the east of the pass of towards Lake Tahoe
Heart 1 Comment 0
WOO-HOOO! The first state line.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dramatic skies today
Heart 1 Comment 0
The little historic town of Genoa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
NOW do you see why it was such a fun day! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 326 miles (525 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0