Day 5: Rest day, more or less - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2010

Day 5: Rest day, more or less

It was only 15 or so miles to the rendezvous point with Fred so I lallygagged around, did laundry, went shopping...and now I'm sipping a latte and waiting for Fred's arrival.

...but poor Fred! A front is blowing through. I don't know his exact route but I'm guessing it is nose in the wind, and man it is a big blow! I did not even set up my tent, and decided to just lay it flat and sleep on top or it under the stars, until the ranger came by and said there might be rain tonight. :-P I guess if I want to keep it from raining I'll have to set up the tent. If not, there will surely be a downpour!

...on the bright side, if it stays like this we are going to absolutely FLY tomorrow! :-)

Hopefully Fred will make it with his sanity. If not he will fit right in ;-)

The only other development is that I'm nursing my first ever, well, eerrrr, saddle sore :-( I am trying a different saddle and anticipated this possibility and left my saddle with Vinny to send to me if necessary. He did that today so I can switch on and off if I need to. I'll have it in a day or two, depending on our progress (thanks Vinny!). That should help, and the "rest day" was just what the doctor ordered. It started with all that climbing 2 days ago. I guess this makes me a veteran tourer now? ;-)

Well, better get back and keep a look out for Fred!

If you don't see a post for a day or two don't worry, not sure what is out there in the great beyond as far as WIFI. But I'll keep everything recorded and post when I can.

Until next time...

Karen (the Trucker, and hopefully soon, Fred)

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 442 miles (711 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0