Day 6: Dayton State Park to Middlegate Station - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2010

Day 6: Dayton State Park to Middlegate Station

Wow, what a great day! :-) We rode 101 miles from Dayton to Middlegate Station But before I get to that .

Fred arrived last night with a big smile on his face. 'That was fun!' he said. He had a tail wind! After setting up camp we went for a bite to eat and then to bed for the big day ahead.

The ride started with cloudy conditions that threatened rain, but ALSO a great tailwind! WOO-HOO! It never did rain but conditions were about as perfect as one could expect this time of year with mostly/partly cloudy conditions (keeping the temps cool) and, as I said, tailwinds.

After breaking camp and a quick breakfast we were on the road by 8:30. The peddling was easy with mostly flat or mellow grades. We made it to Fallon by noon and, after a nice lunch at the Italian/Mexican restaurant (no I am NOT making that up) in downtown Fallon we decided to push on to Middlegate. I had been reading about Middlegate station in other CGOAB journals and really wanted to spend the night but I never thought the logistics would work out because of the mileage... But since we made such good time we pushed on.

...the second half of the day was harder. There were some longer climbs, and after 80 plus miles the legs just feel it, but it was still a great ride! We rested about every 10 miles to give the legs (and butts) a break. Though I will say, I was REALLY, and I mean really, happy to see the little oasis of Middlegate station as we neared the 100 mile mark

We rolled in around 6:00pm and the place was just as I expected, a little oasis for tired, hungry bikers (and other travelers). And, to make it even BETTER(!), my saddle was waiting for me. We walked in, sat at the bar, I got an orange juice and Fred got a beer, and Frieda game over with a box, 'I bet this is yours.' She said with a friendly smile.

...camping is free, the burgers are great, the owners, Russ and Frieda are great. The shower is clean, it has shampoo, soap and yes, clean towels! Laundry is $1.00 a load including soap WIFI is free, they have a large screen TV showing, no, not basketball, no NOT fox news, but YES, the History channel! It's a paradise. ;-)

I just finished off a cheeseburger and may have some ice cream for desert. Fred is out taking pictures and chatting with two other bike tourers who showed up a little after us.

Today is going to be a tough act to follow but we will do our best to try.

Camp at Dayton State Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery before Fallon
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I TOLD you we ate at a Mexican/Italian Restaurant. You didn't believe me did you?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fred up the road after Fallon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me, taking a little nap
Heart 0 Comment 0
We saw a lot of these markers since we were on the pony express trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fun with tripods ;-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Aaaaaah the downhill after the climb :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Last climb of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, MAN was I happy to see Middlegate Station!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Middlegate Station
Heart 0 Comment 0
The inside of Middlegate Station. There are dollars bills all over the ceiling from satisfied customers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Picture by Fred
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picture by Fred
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picture by Fred
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 101 miles (163 km)
Total: 543 miles (874 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Douglas HerrPicture by Fred, picture by Fred. What Im wondering is, why no picture of Fred? Haha If you ever see this
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookHa ha. I have some pics of him riding :-)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago