Day 52: More surprises - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2010

Day 52: More surprises

Written July 26th, posted July 27th

It's like I keep saying, a bike tour is full of surprises. Man, I felt awful this morning. I slept ok but I just didn't feel like eating. Yeah, my pre breakfast of a granola bar, an apple and peanut butter, a sweet roll, smoked salmon and coffee is not traditional but that is nothing new for me. When I got to the first town, 10 miles and 1 big climb down the road, I stopped for a 'real breakfast' but nothing looked appetizing. Still, I felt I had to eat something so I ordered eggs, hashbrowns, bacon and toast...

...and THAT was when I realized that I think I am just tired of all the foods I have been eating during this tour. I tried, but I couldn't. I took a few bites of eggs, a piece of toast two pieces of bacon, one bite of hash browns and that was it. I just couldn't... I bought a big bottle of orange juice instead, drinking things does not seem as hard.

My legs felt more or less ok, but ten miles later I thought I better eat something. But, nothing looked good at the next gas station either. I got mini cherry pie and a chocolate milk and I managed to get it down. After that was the biggest climb of the day and I DID have a couple of bananas left from the previous day so I made it over the top.

Then I plunged down and did some rollers for awhile and ended up in Rosedale. The map said there is a Methodist Church hostel so I started searching. It was only 3:00, still plenty of time to ride, and I needed to put in more miles, but I just didn't feel good. And that was when surprise number two came about...

The church was 2 miles past town but I didn't know that so I went hunting without restocking my food supply (though part of that was due to the fact that nothing looked good to by in the gas station quicky-mart). I found it after asking someone and was dreading the two mile trek back to town to buy something for dinner. I was also worried about them letting me in since my phone was not getting a signal and I could not call them. 'Do you think anyone is there to let me in?' I asked the woman at a school down the road. But she told me not to worry, that the door is open for cyclist.

When I arrived at the church no one was here but I followed the sign to the side door and, to my amazement, there was a note on the door telling cyclist to 'make yourself at home, to feel free to eat food from the pantry and refrigerator, to leave our bikes outside but that we can sleep inside or out, which ever we prefer.' I stepped in to a nice cool kitchen with instructions for the coffee pot.....and that the only thing they ask is that we clean up after ourselves.

So, I sat down, made myself a cup of tea and studied my maps. I would fall behind with such a short day but it couldn't be helped. I changed out of my riding shorts, had something to eat out of the pantry and took a nap, a LONG nap. I woke up about 5:00pm feeling great! So great that I packed up my stuff and got ready to ride some more miles. But after some thought decided it was too late to ride the 22 miles (and one BIG climb) to the next town with a place to stay. I'm not a fast climber and I didn't want to be stuck out there too late. So, I unpacked and decided to settle in for the night.

I found some leftover sausage and bean casserole left by touring cyclist Jane from England. It was delicious and revived my appetite! After another cup of tea I was feeling back to my old self again. I'm excited to ride again tomorrow and I am planning a BIG day to make up for today.

Tomorrow's climb should be one of the last. The ACA route has a couple more big ones but I am running behind and I am planning some shortcuts to save time and miles. It should lop off some climbing too. WOOO-HOOO!

The bottom line of today's story is this I find it incredible that this small church would leave their doors open to any touring cyclist in need of a place to sleep or rest. The fact that it is stocked with food is even more surprising. I guess when you read about all the bad stuff happening in the world you have to think about the little things like this that balance all of that out. For me this place came on a day when I needed a little reviving--thanks Elk Garden Methodist Church!

This is kudzu. It is an invasive species around here and smothers native trees and plants. In some places it even (GASP) covered the small bike shoulder!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sign on the door of the Methodist Church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the pantry...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 4,102 miles (6,602 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0