Day 53 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2010

Day 53

This morning I had grits. Not that it is THAT big of a deal but it WAS on my trip bucket list. I may have had them as a kid but I'm not totally sure. Let's face it, the things you remember as a kid are, "Went to Disneyland", "Went to Disneyworld", "Went to Daytona Beach", but "had grits" is not normally a memory maker.

So, since I was heading to the place where grits are common I wanted to try them. Of course I didn't expect my grits to be instant at the Methodist Church but that's what I found in the pantry for breakfast so that's what I had. I don't think they were "traditional" though because I put (real) maple syrup and peanut butter in them, just like I do in oatmeal. I will say that they WERE delicious though! So, that's one off my trip bucket list.

I got up and out early this morning and made it over the first climb with little problem. About 20 miles into the ride it started raining. Then it REALLY started raining. I stopped in a bike shop for some of it but then I just rode, what else could I do? I need to put in the miles.

The sun came out later so I had a little bit of everything today...

In Wynchville I stopped at the library to check my e-mail. It was there I met a man who seemed extraordinarily nice and helpful. Finally I asked if he was a member of the chamber of commerce? "No," he said, "I'm the mayor." He was so nice I told him I would vote for him if I lived in his town, but of course I don't.

After my library stop and lunch I was off for a little late day riding. It was a long day and I'm really pooped. Sorry about no pictures but when the rain started in force I put my camera and other electronics in my waterproof panniers. Maybe it will be sunny tomorrow?

That's it for tonight--I need to get some sleep!

Today's ride: 97 miles (156 km)
Total: 4,199 miles (6,758 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0