Day 51: Yes, Virginia, I am here! - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2010

Day 51: Yes, Virginia, I am here!

Wooo-Hoooo! Virginia I have arrived!

The morning started with breakfast with David at the Hindman Cyclists Bed and Breakfast. He had coffee made and the table all set, with 7 different kinds of fruit, mind you, by the time I had all my things packed and ready to go. Thanks David! Nice place you got there! :-)

I had a nice start to the day, traffic was light and temperatures were fairly cool. I had several dog encounters today. The first was the most interesting when a youngish dog (I'd say a little under a year) got the jump on me. I couldn't outrun him because I was on a slight grade, and he tried to take a bite out of my back pannier. Then he ran around to my left side so I took my foot out of my pedal and bopped him right in the nose. He looked more surprised than hurt, though I know I got him square, and he stopped and ran home with his tail between his legs. Problem solved. I didn't want to hurt the little guy but he had proven he would bite so it was him or me. I have often (in previous years) had to take a foot out of the pedal and been ready to bop a dog but that was the first time I have had to do it.

Later a dog came running after me. He sounded all vicious like and ran behind me but this time I said, in a gentle voice, "Don't worry, little guy, I'll be out of your territory soon." It was almost like he wasn't expecting a "nice" reaction and he seemed to calm down and stop barking. Then he stopped running after me and turned to home. I had several similar encounters like that today.

Other than that, the route definitely makes its ways through the hollows of Kentucky. The valleys are close in and, in many cases, houses are packed fairly tight. I can see why the communities are tight knit here, though based on the number of rebel flags, I'm not sure some of them are aware that the civil war is over?

I am also impressed with the gardens most people have though. In most cases they look like they could supply a family with vegetables for a year. I guess I shouldn't be so proud of my little lettuce patch, after seeing that?

And speaking of "Hollers." While I was riding through them the song, "Coal Miner's Daughter" (Loretta Lynn) kept popping into my head all day, along with the line from the movie where Sissy Spacek said, "...I LOVE Squirrel meat, Don't you just love squirrel meat?" which made some sense considering my local, but the WEIRD thing is, after I got into my hotel room I turned on the TV and was channel surfing and, you guessed it, "Coal Miner's Daughter" was on! Not only that, it was right at the section where Sissy Spacek said, "...I LOVE Squirrel meat, Don't you just love squirrel meat?" Do-DO-do-do .Do-DO-do-do

The only other interesting thing happened when I stopped at one of the local BP quicky-marts for a snack. The young kid behind the counter seemed more 'on the ball' than a lot of the kids that waited on my lately so I asked if he was doing anything besides working at a quicky-mart.

'I start college in a few weeks,' he said proudly, and added, 'Not many people around here go to college.'

'Well GOOD for you!' I told him. He is attending the local community college and when I told him I teach at a community college we chatted for a while. I hope he does well in life.

After that I went out to take a picture of the "Spill Kit" that BP had so much foresight to supply for it's small gas station.

"Isn't it ironic that BP has this spill kit but had no 'spill kit' plan for their oil rigs" I said to the youngish looking guy (early 20s)?'

He laughed a little and said it was, and added "I'm kind of a tree hugger, and it's really hard to be a tree hugger in Eastern Kentucky.'"

"I'll bet,'" I said, trying to imagine all the ways it WOULD be hard.

When I asked his opinion on the coal industry he said, "I hate them. They raped the land..."

He explained that the area he grew up in had springs for drinking water and now they are poisoned. Then he told me how he got a hold of some solar panels and put them on his parents house, "they cut their electrical bill in half. Now they want me to add more of them...but I'm looking into geothermal energy for this area..."

The conversations with both young men is enough to give me hope for the future.

That was my day. Tomorrow I'll get on the bike and keep riding, in Virginia!

I'm sure glad BP is prepared for fuel spills!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scene near the Kentucky-Virginia border
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was part of an elaborate memorial in very small town to military and fire fighters, but in this neck of the woods they include coal miners who lost their lives as well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
War veterans and coal miners are honored equally
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool house, made entirely of rocks instead of bricks
Heart 0 Comment 0
Velo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
WOOOO-HOOOOO! Virginia at last....but, man, I need a haircut!?
Heart 0 Comment 0
NOW I'm on the BIKE road! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 4,051 miles (6,519 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0