Day 49: Whao! It is HOT out there! - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2010

Day 49: Whao! It is HOT out there!

Well, I must officially be in eastern Kentucky because a little while ago I overheard someone say "...scared as a coon" in a conversation. ;-) Sorry, I know, I just stereotyped, but ya gotta admit that IS kind of funny?

Everything ran smooth this morning except it is really hot. I made it from Berea to Booneville by 1:00pm but it was too hot to go on. The heat index is over 100 degrees. If it was the flat plains it would not matter so much but from here I have some grades to climb so I think it's best to tackle them in the morning.

Today's ride was nice. I was pretty young the last (and only) other time I was in this neck of the woods and I remember it as being more run down. I have to say I'm impressed at how nice most of the houses and farms look around here. Almost all the lawns and farms are immaculate.

In fact, the riding reminds me of the landscape back home in some ways. The roads are similar (grades about the same) and in the winter back home it is similarly green. Some of the differences are tobacco and corn instead of grapes and orchards, the stifling humidity, which makes you feel like you are riding in a steam room, and you don't get asphyxiated by second hand smoke in the little food stores and restaurants back home. The people sure are nice here though, probably nicer than back home?

I'm hanging out at the library this afternoon. It is brand new and extremely nice. I was talking with a woman who works here and it just opened in December--they are very proud of it and should be. For me, it sure is nice to be out of the heat!

My legs feel good and I would have liked to ride more but you can't fight mother nature. I checked out the weather report and it is supposed to cool some in a couple of days. Hopefully I can ride more then? Either way, I still should make it for my flight on time...

The only bummer is that I think the humidity has gotten to my camera? There is a "fuzzy" spot if you look close. I usually carry my camera in my pocket (wrapped in a plastic ziplock) and I think it was too steamy. Oh well...

Also, for those of you on my SPOT, I know nothing went through today. I'm not sure why? I will change the batteries tonight and see if that helps. If not, the trips almost over...

More tomorrow if I can. If not I'll update the journal as soon as I can.

College in Berea
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical road today
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's not every day you actually see a house burning down. When I rode by two people were sitting in lawn chairs watching the house burn and another "official" looking man was looking around. About 5 minutes later some fire trucks went by me... Strange
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not a structural engineer but I don't think these rocks, holding up this very large barn, are to code?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was at 1:00pm and does not count humidity. I'm sure it is hotter now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is one of the churches on the route that allows cyclists to sleep in the back. They even have a shower back there.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 3,915 miles (6,301 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0