Day 48 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2010

Day 48

Wow, a-NOTHER weird day. I felt awful at first. My legs felt heavy, I was hot (because, you know, it was HOT out!) every climb seemed like an ordeal, I was sweating like a pig. To be honest, I would have preferred to just stay in bed, like a sane person. But, I had to put in some miles.

The last 1.5 days I have been officially off route because it saved a few miles. It is not totally uncommon to go take the route I took because there is a bike shop that way but I have to say, the alternate stretch seemed like a totally different Kentucky. I went through Springfield, Danville, and a couple other smaller towns, and although I can't compare with the 'real' route, since I didn't see it, compared to the other towns previous, the ride today seemed more 'upper class' (for lack of a better term). The buildings were beautiful and immaculate, many seemed old and exceptionally restored and well kept.

I really enjoyed the historical sites in Danville where they have a recreation of the original log cabin village. It seemed set up for auto tourism though. Don't get me wrong, it had it's drawbacks-more traffic, some narrow roads-but it was interesting and I'm glad I went that way. Oh, and it had coffee shops! The kind with lattes!

In fact, seeing those towns and reading the historical plaques all along the way seemed to revive me some and I felt much better in the afternoon.

I think of Kentucky in terms of the Civil war but not so regarding the Revolutionary war but it seems loaded with both.

When I started planning these trips I barely cracked open the maps of this area. I figured it was just be sections I have to more or less 'get through' to finish. But I must say I'm looking forward to reading and seeing more about the history from here on out.

In a couple of days I'll be in Virginia. It's hard to believe

On a final note, I found a really nice hotel for $32 so I can sleep out of the heat again. THAT'S a big wooo-hooo! But, I just had 2 fish tacos at Long John Silvers and they are by FAR the worst fish tacos I have ever had. I don't expect Rubios quality in Kentucky, but they really do embarrass themselves by calling them 'baja fish tacos'. Oh, and the hush puppies? They are so bad I can't even eat them! I better got over to the grocery store for some fruit!

Here are some pictures from the last couple of days

Kentucky farm in the morning. This was yesterday when there was a threat of rain the whole day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was at a bike shop in Elizabeth Town. It is signed by all of the cross-country tourers that stop in. This town is also officially "off route" but a lot still show up there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who knew?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Courthouse in Danville
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Old" Danville
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Before
Heart 0 Comment 0
After
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Congested" I'm not seeing it?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 3,861 miles (6,214 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0