Day 28: Against the wind... - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2010

Day 28: Against the wind...

Overall this trip has been a blast but I gotta tell ya, today was NOT a fun day on the bike.

You may have heard about the hurricane in the Gulf Of Mexico? Well, I'm told that is the cause of the monster winds from the south I had to contend with today. It was one of those day that I had to pedal DOWN hill. And I only managed about 20 miles in the first 4 hours.

About 23 (or so) miles into it I came to a long downhill that was steep enough to give me a little umpf to get me going. At last, I could relax for a couple of miles. The city of Colorado Springs gave me a little respite but not much.

The one bright spot of the day (the last 3 days actually) was time spent with my cousin Laura, and Neal and Rachel oh, and Finley the dog. Thanks again for letting me hang out and mooch! I had a great time!

Tomorrow I had south again. The winds are supposed to be strong again, especially in the afternoon, so I'm hoping for an early start.

After that, or perhaps a couple days later, I am meeting some other riders for the push to Virginia but I'll take about that when I meet them.

I took a few pics but not many. There were some nice opportunities but it was head down in the wind for most of the day.

Pike's Peak in the background.
Heart 1 Comment 0
When I rode up to this herd they were all butts to the wind. I thought they were mooning me! ;-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
I have never been so happy to see a down hill sign!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
What?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,956 miles (3,148 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0