Day 29: The early bird gets the worm! - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2010

Day 29: The early bird gets the worm!

It's only 11am and I plan to do some more riding but I'm having a latte after a great morning ride and I thought I would do a quick update...

My plan to wake up and get out extra early paid off! I started packing at 5:30 and, after a quick breakfast at a little diner, hit the road. The winds were still calm, in fact, I think I had a little tail wind! Although it could have been because I rode highway miles today (for those of you who don't ride, you can get a little "pull" from cars/trucks as they go by, even more so on highways). Whatever it was, I put my head down, flipped into my big ring, and pedaled as hard as I could, determine to get as far as I could before the predicted headwinds. It paid off; I made it to Pueblo in record time...

I then stopped at a really nice bike shop so they could check my headset, which I have been wondering about lately--every so often it had a little "give" and I have been concerned about it. So, sure enough, that little wedgey think that is supposed to wedge in there had de-wedgey-ed. They replaced it for $2.00. :-)

...while at the bike shop I meet 3 riders going west--two from Australia. They told me how a dog ran off with one of their cycling shoes and they were there to replace them. I told them that, being from Australia, they should be used to dingo's running off and eating their possessions, but they said, no, this was a first for them. I made a mental note to keep an eye on my shoes as I ride east.

I was happy to meet some other tourers though. I have been off the main ACA route since Hanksville, Utah and I have not met any other tourers since then. Now that I'm back on route I'm sure I will start meeting a lot more.

I wasn't sure if I would get past Pueblo today but I might as well ride a little longer. I have a few errands to run (stores and things) but then I'll likely go, unless, by the time I finish errands a massive headwind kicks up or something. I'm still a day or two ahead of the group I'm meeting so there is no rush.

If you don't hear from me later don't worry. It may just be wifi availability. Those of you on my SPOT list will know where I am. :-)

Oh, I posted pics from yesterday. I tried last night but the wifi at the KOA sucked. I have several bones to pick with that KOA, they definitely care much less about tent campers than RV'rs, but that will be for another time, if I still care by then... ;-)

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,997 miles (3,214 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0