Day 14: Rest day part 2 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2010

Day 14: Rest day part 2

...just to prove you can never tell what will happen on a bike tour...

After putzing around town most of the day and updating the journal, I figured it was time to find a place to stay, so I went to a couple that owns a kind of bed and breakfast that is really more like individual houses. We had met yesterday at the latte shop and struck up a conversation and one thing led to another...

So I knocked on their door, and they set me up in the cutest little house at a great price. It has a kitchen and laundry and is just like home, only better because it's cleaner (eeerrr maybe I shouldn't have written that part?)

...anyway, they set me up in a place with a KITCHEN! So off I went to the store and started to buy a few things for a stir fry, when who should happen to run in to at the store but Rocky and Issiah.

They had just spent the day riding over a horrendous pass that I had bypassed with an easier route. What's more, they were hailed on and snowed on and rained on and saw lightning... Hmmm? Glad I went the way I did.

Anyway, I invited them over to "my" house for a stir fry and it was delicious. It was the first home cooked meal any of us had had in weeks and it was great. We made so much we couldn't even eat it! After the main course we topped it off with chocolate ice cream. I guess I'm all fueled up for tomorrow's ride.

Sure turned out to be a great rest day. The weather tomorrow is supposed to improve. I've got my fingers crossed.

Oh, man, VEGETABLES! Have not seen that many in a long time!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mmmmmmmm!
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's me being domestic
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mmmm. A home cooked meal!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0