A message from Fred... - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2010

A message from Fred...

Karen,

It was a long slow windy slog to Cedar City. I couldn't even use my ipod for a distraction. If you remember I lost both of the rubber ear plugs that stop noise from the outside world. All I could hear was loud wind rushing in. 9 mph was all I could do on the down hill. With about 3 miles from town a group of tour to cure riders caught me. I was rolling at 9mph and jumped into their pace line at 12mph.

I was very hot, tired, and sore at that point. I found the bus stop and bought a ticket to San Diego for Friday. I ditched all of my gear in the back of the gas station that doubled as the bus station and road back up to a bike shop in town to get a bike box to pack my bike for the bus ride home. The bike shop was closed but luckily their trash can had a bike box in it. So after a little dumpster diving I managed to lash down the box on my rear rack. I had wings for the flight back down to the gas station. I made it to San Diego around 11 o'clock.

I had a good time riding the loneliest road with you. Hope to do another tour but with a better saddle. Good luck on the rest of your ride see you soon.

Fred

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 1,125 miles (1,811 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0