Day 14: Rest day - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2010

Day 14: Rest day

I decided to take a rest day today. It started when I looked at the weather report, which is overcast and cool with possible showers. Though there were other minor factors involved...

1. There is a latte shop in this town (Panguitch) and its been over a week since I had a latte, even a bad one, and the latte shop here serves good ones, with a really nice owner. And I need to "recover" from my latte deficits in case I have to wait another week.

2. My legs can probably use a break. Nevada was hard riding.

3. I need to get caught up on a few things, like e-mails, the journal, mailing some stuff home...

As it turns out I made the right call. I met a couple of bikers (motor that is) at breakfast and they had just come from Bryce with the report that it was pouring rain there. And, as I sit here at the quicky-mart, using their free wifi, I can see lightning in the distance. It's pretty, but not ideal for riding, OR taking pictures.

Tomorrow the weather is supposed to improve, with better conditions as the week goes on, and I will be off again...

I finished one of the two missing days (day 10) and hope to get day 9 on by tonight.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to go have another latte!

Until tomorrow... Karen (and the Trucker)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0