Trieste to Izola. - Summer in Slovenia 2023 - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2023

Trieste to Izola.

Day Ride...

A jaunt south down the coast back into Slovenia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

When we arrived in Trieste, I always had it in the back of my mind that we would take a day ride south along the coast towards Izola on our layover day here. This morning, though, Sue chose to stay back and, instead, decided to take in more sights of this beautiful city.  She said she had not seen enough of Trieste, so she decided on a long walk around the city instead.   So, I was on my own for this ride, which suited us both fine.

I suppose I was a bit premature saying goodbye to Slovenia in a previous post, since today's ride would bring me back across the border and along the very short Slovenian coast.  Slovenia has a total of about 10-15 kms of coastline; without this very meager piece of coastal land, Slovenia would be a landlocked country.   This explains the very busy and industrious port town of Koper, with an extensive shipping port with dozens of container cranes and is clearly an important hub for Slovenian trade.  

I left early, but had some difficulty finding the ferry to take me across the Bay of Trieste towards Muggia.  When I asked people on the street, they told me that the ferry was 500 meters that way.  So, I went 500 meters that way, and scanned and looked around at what might appear to be a ferry terminal, to no avail.  Then, I asked another person, and they told me the ferry was 500 meters the other way.  So, I went back and forth along the promenade until I spied a group of people who looked to be waiting around for something.  I suspected it might be my ferry.

When I arrived there appeared to be no signs, schedules or ferry logo or emblem to indicate any kind of ferry service whatsoever.  I suppose you just have to be in the know.   Then, all of a sudden, a skilled skipper rolled in quickly and effortlessly docked right in front of us.  

All aboard. The ferry captain insisted that I take off my cycling shoes for fear that the cleats scratch the beautifully polished wood deck. The picture does not show the wooden lower deck floors.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A look out the window on my way to Muggia.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A look back towards the coastline around Trieste.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this incredible Supership yesterday. I did some research and found out that is built by a German company Nobiskrug. The masts are the tallest in the world, and it was owned by Russian multi-billionaire (and Oligarch) Andrey Melnichenko. However, the vessel was seized by the Italian government. The vessel cost €400 million to build. A disgusting amount of wealth!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott FenwickIt is quite the ship. We saw it in October 2017 off the coast of Sardinia at Santa Margherita di Pula. At the time it was firmly in the hands of the Russian Oligarch.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Scott FenwickHi Scott. I just can't imagine what you'd do with a ship that size. I might be able to fit all of my friends in the ship's breadbasket. It was parked near a cargo ship, and there wasn't much difference in size
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Once the ferry docked at Muggia, I headed south and had an enjoyable ride along the coast.  This was vacationland for many Italians.  All along the coast beachgoers lounged in beach chairs or were seen swimming in the Adriatic.  

Some grape crops along the way.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heading south.
Heart 2 Comment 0

When I arrived at Koper, I was surprised with this charming town.  It's Venetian architecture and the narrow streets of the old town were colourful and lively.

Koper. Tito Square. The Bell tower and the Praetorian Palace.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Praetorian Palace. Built in the 15th century. This one replaced an existing town hall from the 12 century.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Koper, Slovenia.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A look back towards the bell tower and Tito's Square.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Koper.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Koper.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A look back at Koper's port.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The route between Koper and Izola were the best kilometers of the day.  A wonderful separated bike lane all the way.

On route towards Izola.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A very popular route for all forms of wheeled transport.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Love the umbrella pines on route towards Izola.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Izola was another beautiful old coastal town.  I didn't spend long there and was soon retracing my path back to Muggia along the coast.

Izola.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Izola.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Vacationland.
Heart 1 Comment 0
When I arrived in Muggia around noon, the return ferry back to Trieste departed at 2:35pm. Sue was expecting me back around 1pm, so I decided to ride back.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I must say the ride back into Trieste was an adventure.  Trieste is not a bike friendly city, and the traffic in and around town is intense.  I'm lucky that I have a lot of experience riding in busy European cities, because this was an exhilarating  'hold onto your bootstraps' kind of entrance into Trieste.  There are many one way narrow streets, and I get the sense that if you're a driver here, you have to be aggressive to make any headway and progress through this busy city.  It's the kind of place where driver's don't delay.  They just go.  But, I made it safely back.   I was happy to get out today and take advantage of one last day on my bike for this trip.  A good day.

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 789 km (490 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a great last ride!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraI felt like it needed it after all that train travel
Reply to this comment
9 months ago