Most Na Soci to Skofja Loka. - Summer in Slovenia 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2023

Most Na Soci to Skofja Loka.

Some climbing. Some downhill!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We don't normally post food pics, but last night's lamb dinner was exceptional.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Mike AylingAgree. Food pics can be over done.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

By now you may know my morning routine.  I was up early, trying my best to be quiet, until that turncoat of a creaking bed gave me away.  Sue let out an audible and disapproving grunt, and that was my cue to get dressed and out the door.  Besides, the light this morning looked like it might favor some nice photo opportunities.  Here are some shots of my morning jaunt to coffee.

Looking down the lane that leads up to our hotel.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Most Na Soci is at the confluence of the Soca and Idrijca Rivers. The Idrijca flows under the arched bridge; lower center.
Heart 7 Comment 0

When I walked through town this morning, I slammed back a cappuccino, a chocolate croissant, and then another espresso.  That woke me up enough for me to tackle the hill up to the church.  Along the way, I discovered an info-sign that indicated that artifacts of a bronze age settlement was found where the Soca and Idrijca rivers meet.  Fragments of pottery were dated to 1200BC.  Cool stuff.

Our hotel up to the right with the Soca flowing away from the shot.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Classic distressed wall shot in town.
Heart 3 Comment 0
As well as a classic distressed door shot.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I don't know anything about tractors but I did do some research on this little red beauty. IMT or Industry of Machinery and Tractors is a Serbian tractor company founded in 1948. This tractors looks to be about that vintage. I like the bull on the logo. Plus the SLO (Slovenia) sticker adds some pizazz.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Duck in the mist.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bridge over the Soca.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Our little home last night.
Heart 6 Comment 0

After a fine breakfast, we headed off on the relatively busy 102 for about 2kms, until our turnoff for the 403, just past the town of Postaja where we became acquainted with the Baca River.   We would follow the Baca upstream for the next 25km, slowly gaining elevation with a gradual gradient interspersed with some punchy bits for good measure.  It was interesting to observe the Baca becoming smaller and smaller in volume as we approached its headwaters.

Looking upstream. The Baca River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The old hydroelectric dam in Klavze built in 1930.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Approaching to town of Grahovo ob Baci.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The town of Koritnica up the road. Slowly gaining elevation.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Found some friends along the way. Which one is Lenny?
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Baca River valley is spectacular, and if you're lucky enough get to Slovenia to ride your bike and you need a good route to get from Most Na Soci to Skofja Loka, then I might suggest this one.  There's  a bit of climbing, but nothing that is too serious. Besides, the breathtaking views and scenery will take your mind off your climbing legs anyways.

Heart 4 Comment 0
One of the larger towns along the way. Podbrdo.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just past the town of Podbrdo, the climb reared up for a short spell.  What was especially incredible about today was how cool and comfortable the temperatures were.  It's ironic as I write this.  I'm watching BBC news, and they're talking about the fact that the UN has claimed that the Earth has entered a point of, what they term. 'Global Boiling'.   Unsettling to say the least.

Sue climbing out of the town of Podbrdo through cool beech, oak and pine forests.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I remembered this place from Google maps when I was researching the trip and thought what a great place to stop for a rest. So, now that we're actually here, we did!
Heart 3 Comment 0
A look down at the trout fish farm.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The cartoon cutout lady by the sign was not working today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We stopped for a little break here before tackling the more serious climbing. The Lasko I had gave me superpowers. No wonder the Slovenians are so industrious.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Climbing.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Climbing....
Heart 2 Comment 0
And, just a bit more climbing...
Heart 4 Comment 0

Newsflash.  As I was writing this journal, I just discovered a tick attached to just inside the rim of my nostril.  WTF?  I picked my nose, and thought this to be a little booger, but that booger began to move and my nose began to bleed.  What is it with me and ticks?  If you were a follower of our journal from last year, you'd know that I also got a tick bite in Italy, and cautiously proceeded with a round of antibiotics to prevent Lyme Disease.  How the hell did a tick get into my nose is the big question?  I mean, I'm a nature lover and love to get up close to all god's creatures but how the heck did a tick get up my nose?   And, then I thought.  I did smell a beautiful yellow rose earlier in the day.  Could that have been it?  Maybe, it attached to my helmet when I set it down somewhere?  Maybe it crawled into our little cabin last night and zeroed in on my gaping nostril?  Who knows how the creepy little bugger got there?  Well....let's just hope this is a nice tick (if there is such a thing) and it doesn't carry Lyme Disease.  What are the chances of a tick getting into someone's nose?   Anyways.... here's a pic if you're interested in seeing the evidence.

Tick on left. If you don't know this from last year. I *&^%$# hate ticks!
Heart 0 Comment 6
Suzanne GibsonTicks must love you!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Hannah LeeI guess you could say your nose was feeling a bit ticklish.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraYou're punny, Hannah Lee!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Suzanne GibsonI really wish they wouldn't love me so much.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Rachael AndersonThe ticks seem to love me💗.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Anyways, back to today's news.  After topping out at our high point of the day at a little over 800m, it was down, down, down for the next 30 kms.  We sailed along at a -2% gradient.  We almost didn't even need our brakes.

Sue descending. From this point on, it was all downhill to Skofja Loka.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Once over the top, we entered the watershed of the Selska Sora river and followed this downhill all the way to SL.   Through this stretch of road we hardly saw a car for several kms and the temperatures actually plummeted to around 15 degrees which forced us to stop and layer up.  This valley was almost like a cold air sink.  It was a blissful descent and a gratifying way to end the later half of our ride.

Sue and the Selska Sora River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Pastoral, peaceful and green.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back towards the small settlement of Zali Log.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering the old town of Skofja Loka.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThis town! I was wishing we’d stayed here 25 years ago, and always meant to go back.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Scott AndersonHey Scott. We wish we had another day here to explore. It's a tiny town, but does have a lot of charm.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Unbeknownst to me: A celebratory beer with a tick hiding up my nose.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Christy McTaitAnd still you managed to take a good pic 😁
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Christy McTaitHa ha. Thanks Christy.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
David MathersNot funny but I think you're becoming a 'tick magnet'. Beautiful scenery today...great photos!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo David MathersThat's hilarious!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 333 km (207 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a challenging ride! Congratulations. By the way, I’m really enjoying your photos from your early morning walks. I love exploring a place at that time of day.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachel. There's always nice light in the morning.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago