Day 17: At a Crossroads - One For the Books - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2020

Day 17: At a Crossroads

To Khon Kaen

It was a rather late start as usual.  I needed to prepare online classes so that was my excuse.  The staff of course mentioned how hot it was but I must be getting used to it because I just powered on through.  Thankfully it was a short ride today.  

After a few Amazon coffee stops I barreled into Khon Kaen on the approach road and then found a plush condo that was pre-booked this time.  185 Residences if you're interested.  The city had a nice chilled out vibe to it and it was fitting to stop off at a nice restaurant along the way.  It was so cheap.  That's one of the huge advantages of touring Isaan, it is the least expensive in all of Thailand. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
The amazing condo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't have a plan as of yet but aim to stay here a couple days and figure one out.  Khon Kaen is the perfect crossroads town for that.  

Thailand has helped me out in so many ways.  I can think of several times in the past when I've faced a life crisis.  I just came here on a bicycle and sorted the problem out to emerge victorious on the other side.  I was expecting this trip to be the same.  There's something about Thai style that allows you to work through these problems so effectively. 

[Update November 2022]:  But in 2020, it was different.  I've never seen Thai people panic before but it happened then and it was an eye-opener.  The whole chill vibe got upended remarkably fast.  This isn't to say it was permanent.  Thailand came to grips with the pandemic and dealt with it like any other country in the world, well except for one which we all know

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 1,435 km (891 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Andrea BrownHi Steve! Stay cool, god knows it was hot for us the entire winter in Thailand this year. Here's an article you might find interesting: https://danwang.co/covid-observations-from-beijing-march/
Reply to this comment
4 years ago