Day 1: Bangkok to Pattaya - One For the Books - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2020

Day 1: Bangkok to Pattaya

After that long flight ordeal and all those pre-covid scares, it felt like absolute bliss to be in Bangkok again.  I got the taxi to the Sananwan Palace which is my favorite guesthouse in all of Thailand and then spent a few days there doing basically nothing.  Ah, that much needed rest and recovery.  Well that and I managed to squeeze in two group fitness classes at F45 and a few social events.

The whole previous three weeks were like a whirlwind of successes and chaos happening at the same time.  Thailand was much needed to take a break from all that and celebrate the success of what had been accomplished.

The amazing Sananwan Palace pool
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next, it was time to make tracks on the bicycle to Pattaya.  I knew the route well and it was a delightful ride south with the tailwinds propelling me along.  The ride was one of the best and it was over all too quickly.  There was a reason to be there, as the collective owners of the condo units we invest in there got together and arranged an informal meeting that night. 

One of the best features of cycle touring in Thailand -- the coffee stops
Heart 0 Comment 0
Midway stopping place in Chonburi
Heart 0 Comment 0
This ride never gets old
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
They get 300 days of sunshine a year on par with Vegas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I got there I couldn't access my condo due to a whole host of reasons so had to pick a nearby hotel and stay a couple nights.  Maybe they had rented out my unit to a mystery guest?  It wouldn't be the first time.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Luxury
Heart 0 Comment 0

As it turns out, based on the owners' meeting, we were all fed up with the corruption and non-transparency with the management.  We decided to try and vote off the corrupt committee members.  

Right after the meeting, one of the co-owners had this sort of jerry-rigged keycard device.  I explained to him that I was pissed that someone was probably staying in my condo and I had no idea who it was.  Astonishingly he said, "I can help you get in" and brought out this jerry-rigged device.  Imagine the surprise to both of us when an unauthorized customer came out of my condo and looked like he was ready to fight.  He was one tough Russian dude, no shirt one, bulging muscles, and pissed as hell.  His expression did not look good.  I figured we were in for a major confrontation on our hands. 

Thankfully the situation was defused by both of us asking all the right questions and figuring out who was who.  I then tried to sort it out the next day at the juristic office.  All we could find out is that he was renting out the condo properly through the juristic office and helping to pay my outstanding bills.  It is just that they failed to inform me by email.

Crazy day today.  Just what you want after a long bike ride in the hot Thai sun.

Today's ride: 120 km (75 miles)
Total: 120 km (75 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0