A Short Note About Translation - A Most Unusual Bike Trip (By Normal Touring Standards) - CycleBlaze

A Short Note About Translation

I've Always Wanted To Provide a Short Note About Translation Because I Read So Many of Them When I Was Into Russian, German, and French Literature

I should have given this project a little more thought before I posted yesterday's introduction.  When I read the printed copy of my journal this morning, I quickly realized it won't work to simply reproduce it verbatim.  It needs a little translation.  It's got too many inside jokes, meaningless minutiae, and references to things nobody else could know about.  I'll just eliminate that stuff.

Also, it was written in the style of a timeline, as in:

  • "10:50 a.m:  I made it to to the town of Spring Valley and proceeded to vandalize the local waste water treatment facility."  [1]

It seems too chopped up that way, so I'm going to try to create smoother segues from one episode to the next.

I'm also going to add maps to enhance this translation.  I know there is a pretty large contingent of map fans.

Another change I'll be making in my translation will be in the titles of each page.  In place of the current titles ("Sunday," "Monday," "Tuesday," and "Wednesday") I'll try to come up with four new titles with a little more pizazz.

See what I mean? Timelines and titles named after days of the week will not do. They need translation.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally, there is no way I can translate this journal without adding a few comments from my new perspective as a slightly more experienced bicycle tourist.  That's just how I am.  Therefore, my plan is to use footnotes whenever I need to add context, embellishment, or some kind of smart-ass remark.  That way, all new content will be clearly identifiable at the bottom of each page.

-----------------

[1]  That was just a made-up example of a timeline entry.  I didn't really vandalize anything.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 6
marilyn swettLooking forward to reading another of your journals, Greg! They always brighten my day, something that is sorely needed right now.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Suzanne GibsonI usually hate to read anything in translation when I can read the original - this will be an exception! I am looking forward to the revised version of your tour - I mean trip.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettI hear ya, Marilyn. I sorely need a project like this to brighten MY day too. We are in the midst of a long deep freeze here in Minnesota. I haven't seen anything above 5-degrees (F) in nearly a week and every night has been well below zero. That's not even mentioning the wind-chill factor. That has been limiting my bike riding to less than an hour per day, so what else am I going to do other than work on an old bike journal? Thank you for your nice message.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonSuzanne, you are lucky to be multilingual. I wish I was. I only have the ability to translate from strange English to weird English. Thanks for writing and I hope my translation is at least readable.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
You could start by translating « Gautemalan  ». Your typewriter lacked a spell checker, I guess.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinThanks for pointing that out Keith. I am suitably embarrassed.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago