To Buri Ram: By train - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

December 22, 2016

To Buri Ram: By train

Morning coffee. Which button would you press?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm taking the train to Buriram. I'll head south from there, aiming for the Cambodia border at Poipet. Taking the train saves a a couple of days of riding through the Issan flatlands in the heat.

I'll also confess that the communication issues are frustrating me right now. Last night, the only information I could get out of the hotel clerk about where to eat was "market". The market is quite large, and I couldn't find the area with cooked food.  I tried to ask in the market, and just got stares. I ended up going to a western restaurant called Living in the Past, and eating schnitzel. It was good, and the conversation with the owner, a German, and an American expat provided some stress relief. So getting closer to the touristy sights faster seems like a good idea.

At the Sisaket Train Station.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting for the train. My luggage is off the bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Sisaket train station is pretty quiet, but it's right in the city center and surrounded by chaos out on the street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The train is not very busy, either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Isaan countryside is absolutely flat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We pass lots of farm land and some homes, in between the stops.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Farms.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm at the Jintana Resort in Buriram. It's a bit away from things, but has a restaurant. It's a lot noisier than I expected, with cars zooming through the resort too frequently and noisy guests. I'm hoping it will be quiet overnight. I reserved it through Agoda, at 650 baht, including breakfast. Quite frankly, it isn't nicer than the rooms I've been getting lately for 400 baht. I had to ask for toilet paper and soap, which should be standard at this price point. For some reason, when I checked in they thought I asked to stay for a week, and told me they would beat the Agoda price. It's not someplace I would want to stay longer.

Today's ride: 3 km (2 miles)
Total: 1,925 km (1,195 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0